Tom Waits – The Acting Years

21 december 2019|Videos|

In honor of Tom Waits recent 70th birthday, film journalist Leigh Singer created a video essay looking at Waits’ many movie roles and how his music, stories and personas connect with the offbeat character roles he has played on stage and in film. He picks his personal top five roles from the many Waits has taken on since first appearing with Sylvester Stallone in Paradise Alley in 1978.

Podcast | Black & Blues

10 december 2019|Muziek|

Vanaf 1 december is het consumentenprogramma voor de bluesliefhebber Black&Blues dat door 23 lokale omroepen in Nederland wordt uitgezonden als “ gemist” in de vorm van een Podcast wekelijks te beluisteren op Spotify, Apple Podcast en Google Podcast.

Blues Magazine Radio 159 I Album Tip: Meena Cryle And The Chris Fillmore Band – ELeVatIonS

2 oktober 2019|Muziek|

Also in this mix new songs and releases from: George Thorogood & The Destroyers, Will Wilde, Wentus Blues Band With Duke Robillard, Brad Vickers & His Vestapolitans, The Bros. Landreth, Rodney Crowell, Billy Price, Among Lynx, Reese Wynans, Sue Foley, Annika Chambers, The Blue Poets, North Mississippi Allstars, Paul Lamb & The King Snakes, Henrik Freischlader. Enjoy!

Blues Magazine Radio 157 I Album Tip: Danny Bryant – Means Of Escape

18 september 2019|Muziek|

Also in this mix new songs and releases from: Dudley Taft, Ina Forsman Ally Venable Katarina Pejak, Samantha Fish, Ronnie Earl And The Broadcasters, Jim Van Der Zee, The Allman Betts Band, Delbert McClinton And Self-Made Men + Dana, Lisa Lystam Family Band, BB Factory, Kris Barras Band, David Gogo, Sam Baker, Johnny Burgin, Rattlebone, Vaneese Thomas, Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band, Ry Cooder, Thomas Wynn And The Believers, Albert Collins & The Icebreakers. Enjoy!

Blues Magazine Radio 156 I Album Tip: Rick Estrin & The Nightcats – Contemporary

11 september 2019|Muziek|

Also in this mix new songs and releases from: Smokin' Joe Kubek And Bnois King, Toronzo Cannon, Braindogs, Eric Clapton, The Paul DesLauriers Band, Ten Years After, Tommy Grills, The Steel Woods, The Delta Saints, Rival Sons, Lucky Peterson, Allman Brothers Band, Ben Poole, Eric Steckel, The Hangmen, Alastair Greene Band, Snowy White Blues Project, Twelve Bar Blues Band,Bernard Allison Group. Enjoy!

Blues Magazine Radio 155 I Album Tip: Ash Grunwald – Mojo

4 september 2019|Muziek|

Also in this mix new songs and releases from: Giles Robson, Ronnie Earl And The Broadcasters, Beth Hart, Joe Bonamassa, Sheryl Crow, Richville, The Teskey Brothers, Sean Webster, Reese Wynans And Friends, Andreas Diehlmann Band, Blues 'n' Trouble, Supersonics, Gregg Allman, Shadowplay Project, The McNaMarr Project, Arsen Shomakhov, Carl Weathersby, Randy Pavlock And Twenty Four Seven, Larkin Poe, Matt Andersen, Leif De Leeuw Band. Enjoy!

Blues Magazine Radio 154 I Album Tip: Coco Montoya – Coming In Hot

29 augustus 2019|Muziek|

Also in this mix new songs and releases from: The Nick Moss Band Feat. Dennis Gruenling, Dudley Taft, Caleb Johnson & The Ramblin', Martin Harley, Johnny Burgin, King Of The World, Dreamerz & Co., Robert Randolph & The Family Band, Laurence Jones, Allman Brothers Band, Francesco Piu, Ten Years After, Miller Anderson Band, Tennessee Redemption, Angela Perley, Lauren Anderson, Julian Sas, Floyd Lee Band, Eric Gales, Jimmy Thackery, Gary Moore. Enjoy!

Blues Magazine Radio 153 I Album Tip: Bobby Rush – Sitting On Top Of The Blues

9 augustus 2019|Muziek|

Also in this mix new songs and releases from: 24 Pesos, Hannah Wicklund & The Steppin Stones, The Teskey Brothers, Baba Blues, Billy Price, Heather Newman, Florian Lohoff, Zac Harmon, Billie Williams, Altered Five Blues Band, Chris Bergson & Ellis Hooks, Chris Wragg and Greg Copeland, Elles Bailey, Andreas Diehlmann Band, Sari Schorr, AJ Ghent [ j-ent ], Annika Chambers, The Hoochies, The Paul DesLauriers Band, Ian Gillan, Ben Granfelt. Enjoy!

Video Première I Scott & Young – Slow

6 augustus 2019|Videos|

'Slow' is de nieuwe single van Scott & Young, een Nederlands duo: twee stemmen die samensmelten. Slow is een perfect nummer voor de zomervakantie of tijdens een lange roadtrip. De stijl van het Utrechtse duo laat zich het best omschrijven als verhalende FolkPop met Country invloeden. Eerlijke, kwetsbare luisterliedjes gekenmerkt door meerstemmige zanglijnen en teksten die moeiteloos tot de verbeelding spreken.

Blues Magazine Radio 152 I Album Tip: Sean Webster Band – Three Nights Live

19 juli 2019|Muziek|

Also in this mix new songs and releases from: Derek Davis, Mick Kolassa, Eliza Neals, Ray Fuller And The Bluesrockers, Polly O'Keary & The Rhythm Method, Billy Branch & The Sons Of Blues, John Primer & The Real Deal Blues Band, Savoy Brown, Will Jacobs & Marcos Coll, The 40 Acre Mule, Gary Moore, Jared Deck, Francesco Piu, The Allman Betts Band, Guitar Shorty, Vince Agwada, The Veldman Brothers, Joe Bonamassa. Enjoy!

Blues Magazine Radio 151 I Album Tip: Gov’t Mule – Bring On The Music – Live At The Capitol Theatre

4 juli 2019|Muziek|

Also in this mix new songs and releases from: Billy Branch & The Sons Of Blues, The Allman Betts Band, Danny Bryant, Anders Osborne, Randy Pavlock and Twenty Four Seven, Janiva Magness, Danielle Nicole, Michele D'Amour & The Love Dealers, Charles Bradley, Kris Barras Band, Supersonic Blues Machine, Mark Cameron, Zac Harmon, Stef Paglia, The Cash Box Kings, J.P. Reali, Sean Webster, Electric Blue, Catfish. Enjoy!

Gregory Ackerman – Stresslove (EP)

2 juli 2019|Muziek, Releases|

In 2018 maakte de wereld kennis met Gregory Ackerman, die het schitterende debuutalbum 'And Friends' uitbracht via Munich Records. De in Los Angeles woonachtige songwriter was een van de finalisten van de 'International Songwriting Competition' en presenteert op 4 oktober zijn nieuwe EP 'Stresslove' , waarvan hij alvast een voorproefje geeft met de single We've Got A Runner.