Roy Buchanan – Telemaster Live In ’75

16 februari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: |

Powerhouse Records and Tom Principato is proud to announce the Feb. 24, 2017 release from Fender Telecaster icon and guitar legend and virtuoso RoyBuchanan of the CD "Roy Buchanan-Telemaster Live in '75". These recordings are rare and unreleased never heard performances of the Fender guitar master in his prime with his well oiled road band of the era.

Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm

10 februari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: |

For his latest project, Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm (‪April 28 / Jay-Vee Records), the Blues Hall of Famer traveled to Memphis with his friend, renowned Grammy Award winning producer Steve Jordan, to make a classic soul album with Hi Rhythm, the band that helped create that sound.

Xavier Rudd – Live In The Netherlands

10 februari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: |

Xavier Rudd staat bekend als een van de meest gedreven songwriters van Australië. Met zijn feelgood muziek weet de multi-instrumentalist de harten van mensen over de hele wereld te veroveren. Na negen studioalbums verschijnt op 21 april zijn eerste livealbum, Live In The Netherlands getiteld.

Eric Bibb – Migration Blues

9 februari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: |

Migration Blues will certainly be considered one of Eric Bibb's major albums due to the high quality of the songwriting, the raw emotion delivered by Eric's voice, the richness of the orchestration (despite the sobriety) and the seriousness and topicality of its main theme.

Book | Marie Trout – The Blues – Why it still Hurts so Good

9 februari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: , |

Author Marie B. Trout, PhD, wife and manager of blues guitarist extraordinaire, Walter Trout, knows the blues. She has also lived with the blues when her husband narrowly escaped death, and was saved in the 11th hour by a liver transplant. Now, two years after Walter’s astounding recovery, her original academic research of blues fans has congealed with professional and personal experience into a book about the role of blues music to modern audiences, its impact, and enduring power: The Blues – Why it Still Hurts so Good.

Tedeschi Trucks Band – Live From The Fox Oakland

7 februari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: |

In September of 2016, Tedeschi Trucks Band set out for the West Coast to make a live album. After 10 shows there was no shortage of great music to choose from, but for everyone on the tour, one night stood out from the rest: September 9 at the Fox Theatre in Oakland. The best part? TTB had a dozen cameras on hand that night to capture every note!

Fink’s Sunday Night Blues Club, Vol. 1

6 februari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: |

Fink komt dit jaar met maar liefst twee nieuwe albums uit. In het najaar wordt de opvolger van het zeer succesvolle ‘Hard Believer’ uit 2014 verwacht. Maar voordat dit zover is, heeft singer-songwriter Fin Greenall ook gewerkt aan een side project, namelijk ‘Fink’s Sunday Night Blues Club, Vol. 1’. Hierop laat de erg populaire Brit zijn liefde voor blues horen. Op 10 maart verschijnt deze release, en hij zal op 30 april dit werk live ten gehore brengen in North Sea Jazz Club, Amsterdam.

Mercy John – This Ain’t New York

5 februari 2017|Categories: Concert, Tour & Festival Nieuws, Releases|Tags: |

Deze week is het langverwachte album 'This Ain't New York' van Mercy John verschenen. De Brabantse songwriter werkte met zijn vaste band en producer Gabriël Peeters aan dit album dat op zondag 12 februari in W2 in Den Bosch wordt gepresenteerd. Gedurende komende maanden zal Mercy John een uitgebreide tour doen, deels als voorprogramma van de Nederlandse singer-songwriter JW Roy.

Elles Bailey – New Single ‘Wildfire’

4 februari 2017|Categories: Releases, Videos|Tags: |

Bristol based Elles Bailey (28) seamlessly weaves rootsy blues, country and soulful rock with a contemporary edge and her trademark ‘smoky vocals’ taking the lead. Her husky toned, lived-in voice sounds like she has a 60-a-day habit, but was actually caused by a serious illness when she was three. To save her, surgeons had to place a tube in her throat for seventeen days to allow her to breathe, affecting her voice giving it that 'blues feulled' quality that is getting her recognition wherever she sings.

George Thorogood & The Destroyers – Live At Rockpalast: Dortmund 1980 (DVD + 2-CD)

3 februari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: |

The „Satan of Slide“, as the international press calls George Thorogood because of his grand talent for the use of the bottle neck, is mixing urban blues, rock’n’roll and rythm & Blues and created a set with songs of well-known artists like Elmore James, John Lee Hooker, Bo Diddley or Chuck Berry. The DVD+2CD digi contains many photos and professional liner-notes and is a sought-after part of our popular Rockpalast series. Rockpalast is a production of WDR Germany.

MY BABY – Prehistoric Rhythm

2 februari 2017|Categories: Concert, Tour & Festival Nieuws, Releases|Tags: |

De populaire Amsterdamse band MY BABY lanceert op vrijdag 17 maart a.s. het langverwachte nieuwe album ‘Preshistoric Rhythm’ in de Melkweg. De eerste single van het album, het opzwepende ‘Love Dance’, verschijnt op 10 februari. Waar het vorige album nog werd bekroond met een Edison Award voor Best Alternative Album, gaat de band met de nieuwe plaat weer een stap verder en valt alles tijdens de nieuwe clubtour helemaal op zijn plek.

Little Hurricane – Same Sun Same Moon

1 februari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: |

Little Hurricane, the 2-person alternative rock band from San Diego, California, featuring front man Anthony "Tone" Catalano and drummer Celeste "C.C." Spina is gearing up for the release of their third full-length studio album Same Sun Same Moon on April 14, their first on Mascot Records. The album will be followed by a USA / UK / EU headline tour in April/May. Hear the first single "OTL" here.

Sean Rowe – New Lore

31 januari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: |

Acclaimed singer-songwriter Sean Rowe will be releasing a new album entitled New Lore care of Anti- on April 7th. The first song to debut from the album is entitled “Gas Station Rose” a bittersweet road song built around a simple guitar, some well placed piano chords and Rowe’s soulful and convincing singing. The emotional build reaches a heartrending crescendo with some strings and backing vocals.

Bob Dylan – Triplicate (3 CD / 3 LP)

31 januari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: |

Op het nieuwe Bob Dylan driedubbelalbum Triplicate zijn 30 gloednieuwe opnames te horen van klassieke Amerikaanse standards. De Triplicate 3CD/3LP set is het derde onderdeel van Dylan’s ‘standards serie’, waarvan ook het vorig jaar verschenen Fallen Angels en Shadows In The Night uit 2015 deel uitmaken.

Scott H. Biram – Bad Testament

22 januari 2017|Categories: Releases|Tags: |

Scott H. Biram will release a new album, entitled The Bad Testament. The Bad Testament lands somewhere west of the Old Testament and south of an AA handbook, straddling the chasm between sin and redemption. It’s a record of hard-grinding lost love, blues and deep, dark Americana.