The Steepwater Band “Turn of the Wheel” Set for Release on April 24, 2020

When the Chicago winter finally breaks this year, The Steepwater Band will release their brand new album “Turn of the Wheel” on April 24, 2020 via the band’s own imprint, Diamond Day Records. The eleven song set was recorded last year on the shores of Lake Michigan at the new Vigo Street Studios in Miller Beach, Indiana, marking the band’s return to work with producer / engineer Jim Winters (brother of TSB drummer Joe Winters), who recorded their fan-favourite 2006 release “Revelation Sunday.”

For TSB, it’s their seventh full length studio record and first recorded work since 2016’s “Shake Your Faith.” This also marks the first album to feature new bassist Joe Bishop, rounding out the sound along with veteran guitarist Eric Saylors, and co-founding members Jeff Massey on lead vocals / guitars, and Joe Winters on drums. The songwriting on “Turn of the Wheel” is an eclectic, rootsy mix of musical contributions by all four band mates, with Massey handling the lyrical content exclusively. Along for the ride this time around are a few guest musicians – longtime Eddie Money keyboardist Chris Grove, percussion by the band’s old friend Freddy Gonzalez, and for the first time ever on a TSB record, a saxophone cameo by Terry “Sonny Lee” Tritt.

“To my ears, this is the best Steepwater record to date,” said Jeff Massey regarding the upcoming release.” He added, “the new music displays the raw quality of the band’s early efforts, combined with a confidence that could only come from many years of recording and touring.” TSB drummer Joe Winters said, “I think this record says everything about where we are RIGHT NOW as a band, and getting to reconnect with my brother Jim in the studio sure was a lot of FUN!” The finishing touches for “Turn of the Wheel” were added by Grammy award-winning mastering engineer Adam Ayan at Gateway Mastering in Portland, Maine.

Beginning April 24, the vinyl LP will be offered through a special online sale via the band’s website, while the CD / MP3 version will be distributed via, with streaming versions on most platforms (Apple Music / Spotify / Rhapsody, etc.) As always, hard copy LPs & CDs will be available at all TSB performances world-wide. Pre-sale orders will begin in February via the band’s website as well.

After the album’s release, extensive touring is planned for the band in the States and Europe, so be sure to check TSB social media for new shows, pre-sale info, new music videos and more, all coming very soon!

Track List
1. Turn of the Wheel
2. Trance
3. Running From the Storm
4. In the Dust Behind
5. That’s Not the Way
6. Big Pictures
7. Please the Believer
8. Lost on You
9. Make it Right (*CD only bonus track)
10. Abandon Ship
11. The Peace You’re Looking For

“Just a turn of the wheel, and a foot on the gas, into the now, driving out of the past…”

Website The Steepwater Band

The Steepwater Band – Turn Of The Wheel
Format: CD – LP / Label: Diamond Day Records
Release date: 24 April 2020

Ook op Blues Magazine ...