The White Buffalo: New Album ‘Year of the Dark Horse’

The White Buffalo

Year of the Dark Horse

Label: Snakefarm Records
Release: 11 November 2022
Te bestellen via

The White Buffalo - Year of the Dark Horse (album cover)

On The Year of the Dark Horse, the Emmy-nominated, Oregon-born, and Southern California-bred artist The White Buffalo aka Jake Smith, teamed with GRAMMY Award-winning producer Jay Joyce (Eric Church, Brothers Osborne, Fidlar) at his Neon Cross studio in Nashville. For singer-songwriter-guitarist Smith, it was time to take the less-traveled path and embark on a voyage of discovery. Bassist, keyboard player, and guitarist Christopher Hoffee and drummer Matt Lynott added to the recordings and round out the group on the road.

“You think we’re a country band? A folk band? Americana? Rock? What the fuck are you gonna say now?!” says Smith. “With ‘Year of the Dark Horse,’ I wanted something outside of what I’ve ever done. I wanted to open up. Do something dangerous. I’m hard to put into a singular genre as it is, but now I really wanted to take away any kind of preconception or pigeon-holing.” Smith adds, “And don’t ask me, cos I don’t know what it is! It’s a genre-bending thing–there’s elements and influences from ELO, Daniel Lanois, Tom Waits, The Boss, circus, pirate music, yacht rock, and I’m driving and pushing some of these numbers in a way I’ve never done before.”

Year of the Dark Horse which American Songwriter hailed as a “tilt-a-whirl of melting soundscapes,” and a “funhouse of melodies that shapeshift in your ears” is roughly based around the shifting of the seasons paralleled with the shifting of a relationship. Smith’s evocative storytelling and emotionally weighted songs allow the imagination of the listener to play an important part throughout; the music builds on a tale of debauchery (of the drunken variety) and blame, of love and loss, a life lived against the odds, the whole thing set in one lunar year, following our anti-hero through the highs and lows of the seasons.

From highlights “Kingdom For A Fool,” “52 Card Pickup,” and “Donna,” Year of the Dark Horse offers an invigorating and wonderfully unpredictable listen. A collection of 12 musical vignettes individual yet constant in flow, it is The White Buffalo’s most ambitious and well-rounded work to date, with the full scope of Smith’s songwriting craft on view.

Watch The White Buffalo videos for “Not Today” and “Winter Act 2”.

The tracklisting for The White Buffalo’s Year of the Dark Horse:

“Not Today”
“Winter Act 2”
“Kingdom For A Fool”
“Love Will Never Come/Spring’s Song”
“She Don’t Know That I Lie”
“C’mon Come Up Come Out”
“Love Song #3”
“Heart Attack”
“Am I Still A Child”
“52 Card Pickup”
“Life Goes On”

Ook op Blues Magazine ...