Prove It On Me is the second album from Rory Block’s new Power Women of the Blues series. This recording celebrates the songs of nine ground-breaking female blues artists, includes one of her own originals, and is due to be released March 27, 2020 on Stony Plain Records. Prove It On Me presents Rory’s unique take on songs from phenomenal female performers and songwriters: Arizona Dranes, Elvie Thomas Merline Johnson, Madlyn Davis, Helen Humes, Rosetta Howard, Lottie Kimbrough, Gertrude ”Ma” Rainey and Memphis Minnie. Rory’s goal for this release was to spotlight some of the more obscure names of the genre, some of whom did not become widely known ”despite their immense talent”. All songs are given the ”Rory Block Band” treatment, while showcasing their own individual style and contribution to the genre.

“For over a century, women of the blues have prevailed to record and perform their music. I hope we will do them justice by continuing to get to know them better today, as we celebrate their names more every year.”

Prove It On Me was produced by Rory Block and Rob Davis. All vocals on the new disc are by Rory Block, who also played all the guitar and bass parts on her Signature Model Martin Guitars. In addition, all drums and percussion heard on the new disc – guitar bongos, hat boxes, plastic storage tubs, oatmeal boxes and wooden spoons – were played by Rory.

Rory Block
Prove It On Me

Label: Stony Plain Records
Release date: 27 March 2020

1. He May Be Your Man
2. It’s Red Hot
3. If You’re A Viper
4. Prove It On Me
5. I Shall Wear A Crown
6. Eagles
7. Wayward Girl Blues
8. In My Girlish Days
9. Milk Man Blues
10. Motherless Child

Ook op Blues Magazine ...