Foto Recensie: Victor Wainwright And The Train - Victor Wainwright And The Train

Victor Wainwright And The Train – Victor Wainwright And The Train
Format: CD – Digital / Label: Ruf Records
Releasedatum: 6 april 2018

Tekst:  Iain Patience

Victor Wainwright is a US bluesman, a recognised and admired producer and performer with a string of US blues awards to his name, and a presence that comes across as big, big, big, here. Wainwright’s voice is truly excellent, like a male version of Janis Joplin, at times, raw, powerful, strong and stellar. He hammers the keys with a rattling, melodic, driving pulse holding shades of Louisiana great, Doctor John, and the ever-wonderful Marcia Ball, both comfortably contained in the mix. At times, he turns his hand to towering, soaring B3 before again returning to vocals and keys.

There is also some very fine fretwork from Pat Harrington, and horns that deliver down and dirty growls when needed. The song-writing here is lyrically strong, and the undertones of blasting gospel and pure blues-passion, are clear, evident and always paced and pitched near-on perfectly. Wainwright includes a song dedicated to BB King’s old Gibson guitar, ‘Lucille.’

Overall, this twelve-track release absolutely roars and rips along, full-tilt, balls to the wall stuff with assured ability and purpose. Boogie-woogie, barrel-house keyboards and driving pedal-to-the-metal blues delivered with power, drive and enormous quality and talent. This must surely be a band to catch live somewhere down the blues highway. An absolutely excellent release, truly top-dollar in every way.

01. Healing
02. Wiltshire Grave
03. Train
04. Dull Your Shine
05. Money
06. Thank You Lucille (feat. Mike Welch)
07. Boogie Depression
08. Everything I Need
09. Righteous
10. I’ll Start Tomorrow
11. Sunshine
12. That’s Love To Me

Produced by: Victor Wainwright & Dave Gross

Victor Wainwright: vocals, piano, B3, electric piano, mellotron (1), lapsteel (4), belly tambourine (10)
Billy Dean: drums, percussion, vocals (2, 5, 12), baseball bat (2), knife (2), bicycle bell (2)
Terrence Grayson: bass, vocals (2, 5, 12)
Pat Harrington: guitar, vocals (2, 5, 12)

Featuring special guests:

Mark Earley: bari & tenor sax (1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11), flute (11)
Doug Woolverton: trumpet (1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11)
Reba Russell: vocals (1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Nick Black: vocals (1, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12)
Dave Gross: ambient guitar (2), baritone guitar (9), tambourine (8, 9, 10), percussion (2), thump (6)
Greg Gumpel: lead guitar (4), wah guitar (5), vocals (5)
Josh Roberts: lead guitar (9), rhythm guitar (7)
Monster Mike Welch: lead guitar (6)
Patricia Ann Dees: vocals (6)
Jeff Jensen: acoustic guitar (12)

Website: Victor Wainwright

Ook op Blues Magazine ...