The Mannish Boys


“…an infectious revival of both ’40s jump and ’50s to ’60s Chess-like styles from a band that lives inside the music…” – Wall Street Journal

“No band makes the old new again better than The Mannish Boys.”
– Blues Revue Magazine

“It is both refreshing and encouraging to see a song selection that favors
a broad range of little-known gems respectfully presented by a deep
stable of talent.”
– Living Blues Magazine

2010 heralds the passing of the five year anniversary mark of the birth of Delta Groove Music. Likewise, The Mannish Boys, for whom the label was originally conceived, are similarly celebrating five years of electrifying the blues for audiences the world over. The fundamental concept of the band was simple; assemble a group of like-minded musicians to capture the spirit and joy of this timeless music, and reintroduce it for a whole new generation to appreciate and discover. This project, which was only initially envisioned as a one-time testimony to the power of the blues, has now given way to a new institution privileged with the task of preserving this music and presenting it as a vital, living, breathing entity.

The Mannish Boys fifth album, “Shake For Me,” carries forth the tradition established by their very first effort, “That Represent Man,” by presenting an inspired program of deep, lowdown blues supported by a surprising and ever-revolving unit of world class musicians. Reprising their all-star roles in the band are Finis Tasby, Bobby Jones, Kirk Fletcher, Frank Goldwasser, and Randy Chortkoff, joined here by an entirely new and outstanding rhythm section comprised of Willie J. Campbell on bass (The James Harman Band, The Fabulous Thunderbirds) and Jimi Bott on drums (Rod Piazza & The Mighty Flyers, The Fabulous Thunderbirds, Woodbrain).

As is customary on any Mannish Boys release, special guests abound. Rounding out the party for this truly distinguished gathering and cause for celebration are Rod Piazza, Johnny Dyer, Mitch Kashmar, Lynwood Slim, Arthur Adams, Kid Ramos, Nick Curran, Mike Zito, Fred Kaplan, Rob Rio and Andy Kaulkin. But no festivity would be complete without at least one surprise party crasher and with that the Boys proudly introduce Dutch harp player and singer extraordinaire Pieter “Big Pete” van der Pluijm. Guaranteed to blow the roof off the joint, this towering Dutchman pays homage to Lester Butler on the storming New Orleans romp “Way Down South,” bringing to a close another chapter in what will surely be considered The Mannish Boys’ finest hour yet.

The Mannish Boys - Shake For Me (CD)

CD | label: Delta Groove | release date: 16 March 2010


01. Too Tired (3:37)
(Maxwell Davis, Sam Ling, John Watson) Booty Ooty Music, Universal Music Careers / BMI

02. Mona / Willie And The Hand Jive (4:23)
(Ellas McDaniel / Johnny Otis) Arc Music Corp, Eldorado Music Company / BMI

03. Reconsider Baby (3:07)
(Lowell Fulson) Arc Music Corp / BMI

04. Educated Ways (3:59)
(Randy Chortkoff) Delta Groove Productions, Inc. / ASCAP

05. Half Ain’t Been Told (4:59)
(Jimmy Oden, Otis Spann) copyright control

06. Number 9 Train (3:14)
(Morgan C. Robinson) Bobby Robinson Sweet Soul Music / BMI

07. Last Night (5:03)
(Walter Jacobs) Arc Music Corp / BMI

08. Hey Now (3:16)
(Ray Charles) Fort Knox Music Inc., Trio Music Company / BMI

09. You Can’t Be Beat (4:25)
(Chester Burnett) Arc Music Corp / BMI

10. Black Nights (3:26)
(Ferdinand Washington) Spirit One Music, Universal Music Careers / BMI

11. The Bullet (4:44)
(Kirk Fletcher) Delta Groove Productions, Inc., Elaysia Music / ASCAP

12. Those Worries (7:00)
(Randy Chortkoff) Delta Groove Productions, Inc. / ASCAP

13. Raunchy (5:31)
(Arthur Adams) Delta Groove Productions, Inc., Ardesea Music / ASCAP

14. Champagne & Reefer (4:23)
(McKinley Morganfield) Watertoons Music / BMI

15. You’ve Got Bad Intentions (2:46)
(Joseph Wade Scott) Songs Of Universal Inc. / BMI

16. Way Down South (5:04)
(Lester Butler) Bug Music / BMI

Finis Tasby: vocals
Bobby Jones: vocals
Randy Chortkoff: harmonica
Kirk “Eli” Fletcher: lead & rhythm guitar
Frank Goldwasser: vocals, slide, lead & rhythm guitar
Willie J. Campbell: electric & upright bass
Jimi Bott: drums & percussion

Rod Piazza: harmonica (track 7)
Kid Ramos: lead guitar (track 15)
Mitch Kashmar: harmonica (track 14)
Nick Curran: guitar (tracks 1 & 11)
Mike Zito: vocals & guitar (track 2)
Arthur Admas: vocals & guitar (track 13)
Johnny Dyer: vocals (track 14)
Lynwood Slim: harmonica (track 12)
Rob Rio: piano (track 5)
Fred Kaplan: piano (tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15)
Andy Kaulkin: piano (track 16)
“Big Pete” van der Pluijm: vocals & harmonica (track 16)
– Big Pete appears courtesy of Cool Buzz Records, Big Pete plays Hohner harmonicas & Marble amps.

Produced by Jeff Scott Fleenor
Executive Producer: Randy Chortkoff

Website The Mannish Boys :

Ook op Blues Magazine ...