Hawkwind – Road To Utopia, orchestral self-covers album with guest Eric Clapton

For their 31st studio album, Hawkwind have collaborated with songwriter and conductor Mike Batt to recreate a selection of Hawkwind songs with an extra, orchestral ingredient.

Hawkwind invited Mike to help create arrangements for some of their most celebrated songs performed by the current line-up of Dave Brock, Richard Chadwick, Mr Dibs, Haz Wheaton and Magnus Martin.

Tracks such as ‘Quark, Strangeness and Charm’, ‘We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago’ and ‘Psychic Power’ are re-rooted acoustically, then embellished with a strength and majesty only Hawkwind can produce.

‘The Watcher’ features trademark guitar licks from very special guest Eric Clapton.

Dave Brock says: “Reinventing these familiar songs has been an interesting experience… we hope you like them.”

Road To Utopia will be previewed in August by a two-track digital single coupling ‘Quark, Strangeness And Charm’ and ‘The Watcher’, which will be promoted to radio and to streaming platforms.

Hawkwind Road To Utopia

Hawkwind – Road To Utopia

Label: Cherry Red
Release date: 14 September 2018

1. Quark, Strangeness And Charm
2. The Watcher
3. We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago
4. Flying Doctor
5. Psychic Power
6. Hymn To The Sun
7. The Age Of The Micro Man
8. Intro The Night
9. Down Through The Night

Ook op Blues Magazine ...