Foto Rick Estrin & The Nightcats - Groovin' In Greaseland

Wildly fun, musically fearless blues masters Rick Estrin & The Nightcats will release their new Alligator Records CD, ‘Groovin’ In Greaseland’, on Friday, August 18. Overflowing with talent and bursting with bravado, Rick Estrin & The Nightcats have created one of the blues’ most instantly recognizable sounds and no-holds-barred styles. With the world-class talents of harmonica master, songwriter and vocalist Rick Estrin, guitar wunderkind Chris “Kid” Andersen, keyboard wizard Lorenzo Farrell and dynamic drummer Alex Pettersen, Rick Estrin & The Nightcats serve up sharp and incisive original blues and gritty roadhouse rock ‘n’ roll.

‘Groovin’ In Greaseland’ features 13 original songs, 11 by Estrin (including one co-write with Andersen) and one each by Andersen and Farrell. The band’s dazzling performances bring the songs to life as richly detailed characters spill their secrets and share their stories. One listen makes it clear that this is one of the tightest and most original groups in any genre, constantly inspiring each other to new heights. ‘Groovin’ In Greaseland’ was produced by Andersen and Estrin and recorded at Andersen’s soon-to-be legendary Greaseland Studio in San Jose, California.

Besides Estrin’s celebrated songwriting and musical skills, he and the band are among the most entertaining and colorful showmen around. Estrin’s flashing harmonica solos, quick wit and signature look and Andersen’s off-the-cuff guitar acrobatics add even more spontaneous fun to their live performances. “People don’t go out to see people who look like themselves,” says Estrin. “They want to see something special. I was schooled in this business to be a showman, and that’s what you get when you come to see us perform. We know how to put on a show.”

Rick Estrin & The Nightcats – Groovin’ In Greaseland
Format: CD
Label: Alligator Records
Releasedatum: 18 augustus 2017

01. The Blues Ain’t Going No Where
02. Looking For A Woman
03. Dissed Again
04. Tender Hearted
05. Mwah!
06. I Ain’t All That
07. Another Lonesome Day
08. Hands Of Time
09. Cool Slaw
10. Big Money
11. Hot In Here
12. Living Hand To Mouth
13. So Long (for Jay P.)

Website: Rick Estrin & The Nightcats

Ook op Blues Magazine ...