Foto Josh Ritter - Fever Breaks


Josh Ritter – Fever Breaks
Format: CD
Label: V2 Records
Releasedatum: 26 april 2019

‘Fever Breaks’, het tiende studioalbum van Josh Ritter, verschijnt op 26 april en is voorafgegaan door de eerste single Old Black Magic. Het tien nummers tellende Fever Breaks is geproduceerd door Jason Isbell en werd in de legendarische RCA Studio A in Nashville opgenomen met de band van Isbell, The 400 Unit. Naast de sessies in Nashville werden er ook opnamen gemaakt in de Sound Emporium waar het album ook werd gemixt. Naast bijdragen van The 400 Unit, bestaande uit Derry Deborja (piano, orgel en Hohner accordeon), Chad Gamble (drums en percussie), Jimbo Hart (gitaar, ukelele en bas), Sadler Vaden (gitaar) en Amanda Shires (viool en zang), is Jason Isbell ook als gitarist en vocalist te horen op het album.

Over Fever Breaks liet Josh Ritter tegenover Rolling Stone recentelijk weten: ‘The songs are very reflective of the times in which they were written. As we started coming together and playing, the songs that felt like they were gonna work really jumped out as obvious. From there on, after we recorded in August we had this really nice time to stop and listen and let the songs marinate a little bit. In that time, the world has just become even crazier. There’s a lot of the record that feels reflective of the moment it was in.’

Fever Breaks is de opvolger van het in 2017 verschenen ‘Gathering‘ dat in de Americana/Folk albumlijst van Billboard binnenkwam op nummer vier en dat door pers en publiek lovend werd ontvangen. Zo schreef NPR Music: ‘Josh Ritter remains at the top of his game two decades into a highlight-strewn career. He’d be forgiven for loosening his grip, but his hand has never felt surer’ en oordeelde de Huffington Post: ‘Gathering is beautiful and precise, and most of the beauty, to be certain, arises from a prolonged, often intimate contemplation of Ritter’s enormous skill set as an honest bard.’ In 2015 werkte Josh Ritter nauw samen met Bob Weir en schreef veel nummers voor diens album Blue Mountain dat in 2016 uitkwam. Bob Weir was op zijn beurt te horen op het schitterende When Will I Be Changed afkomstig van ‘Gathering’.

Josh Ritter - Old Black Magic [Official Audio]

01. Ground Don’t Want Me
02. Old Black Magic
03. On The Water
04. I Still Love You (Now and Then)
05. The Torch Committee
06. Silverblade
07. All Some Kind of Dream
08. Losing Battles
09. A New Man
10. Blazing Highway Home

Produced by Jason Isbell

Josh Ritter – guitars, vocals
Jason Isbell – guitars, vocals
The 400 Unit:
Derry deBorja – piano, organ, & hohner accordion
Chad Gamble – drums & percussion
Jimbo Hart – fender electric, ukulele, & upright basses
Sadler Vaden – electric guitars, acoustic guitars, 12 string acoustic guitar
Amanda Shires – violin, vocals

Recorded by Matt Ross-Spang at RCA Studio A, Nashville, assisted by Anna Marsh. Additional recording and mixing at Sound Emporium, Nashville, assisted by Rachael Moore

Mastered by Pete Lyman at Infrasonic

Cover painting by Jason Holley
Photography by David McClister
Layout and design by Aesthetic Apparatus

Website: Josh Ritter


Ook op Blues Magazine ...