Foto Release: The Chess project - New Movers

On the groundbreaking new collection ‘New Moves’ (CZYZ RECORDS), Marshall Chess and Jamar Chess team with producer Keith LeBlanc to dive into their family’s hallowed Chess Records vault; offering stunning reinterpretations of Chess’ blues legends, many of whom Marshall worked with firsthand. Featuring The Chess Project – a band hand-recruited by LeBlanc with Marshall and Jamar – the album highlights world class musicians who’ve backed artists like James Brown, Aretha Franklin and Tina Turner as they reimagine Chess gems first recorded by Howlin’ Wolf, Muddy Waters, Memphis Slim, Little Walter, Sonny Boy Williamson and more.

Listen to The Chess Project’s ‘New Moves’ here:

‘New Moves’ is an album nearly two decades in the making, conceived by Marshall Chess and Keith LeBlanc whom he met while working at the pioneering hip-hop label Sugar Hill Records (who helped launch artists like Sugarhill Gang, Grandmaster Flash and Melle Mel). The original idea was to use samples of the original Chess blues masters combined with new original instrumental tracks created by LeBlanc. Legal issues using the original samples surfaced so the idea evolved to one which has become ‘New Moves,’ a collection of reimagined recordings with songs selected by Marshall and production by LeBlanc. This transformation includes a starring role for longtime Rolling Stones backing vocalist Bernard Fowler.

The impressive ‘New Moves’ roster also includes world class percussionist Keith LeBlanc, Skip “Little Axe” McDonald (Grandmaster Flash and The Furious Five) on guitar, Eric Gales (Santana, Gary Clark Jr., Lauryn Hill), Paul Nowinksi (Keith Richards, Patti Smith) and MonoNeon (Prince, Ne-Yo) on bass, Reggie Griffin (Kenny Babyface Edmonds, Chaka Khan) on keys, and Alan Glen (Jeff Beck, Peter Green) on harmonica and Mohini Dey, an up-and-coming young bass player from India.

The Chess family are clearly no strangers to a trailblazing path. After spending his early years alongside his father and uncle in Chicago studios and record pressing plants, Marshall Chess made his mark at the family label in the late ’60s with his own label Cadet Concept producing the groundbreaking albums Electric Mud (Muddy Waters) and Rotary Connection (self-titled). Marshall continued his innovative work as the founder and head of Rolling Stones Records and President of music publisher, Arc Music. The Chess family continue to be pioneers in the industry today; as this new collection is co-executive produced by Marshall’s son, Jamar Chess: a Billboard “30 Under 30” alum, 2019 ASCAP award-winner, and co-founder of Sunflower Entertainment and Wahoo Music Fund One. Together, Marshall and Jamar have now founded the special project label CZYZ RECORDS – an ode to the Chess family’s original last name – which is the record label behind ‘New Moves.’

At 81 years old, Marshall Chess is still a record man above all – tending to the Chess Records legacy for his grandchildren and generations to come. He maintains The Chess Records Tribute YouTube channel, which features recorded live performances of Chess Records artists and a multi dozen-part Chess podcast hosted by Marshall where he chats about producing classic Chess albums and songs, many of which are reinterpreted on ‘New Moves.’ Learn more here.

Hi Temperature - The Chess Project - HD trailer

1. Boom Boom Out Go The Lights
2. Moanin’ At Midnight
3. Nine Below Zero
4. So Glad I’m Living
5. Tell Me
6. Booted
7. Mother Earth
8. Goin Down Slow
9. High Temperature
10. Smokestack Lightning
11. Help Me

Ook op Blues Magazine ...