Foto Release: Slidin' Charlie & Boo Shake

In May 2023 the duo Slidin’ Charlie & Boo Shake released their first full-length album for the Ember Records label, available on all major online music platforms. Nine selfpenned songs plus a cover song by Leadbelly’s that well represent their approach to the blues matter. The lyrics deal with the tensions, uncertainties and also joyful moments in life as a couple as told in the first person.

Carlo Pipitone (vocals, guitars) and Giuseppe Buscemi (drums), based in Palermo, Italy, have a wide-ranging listening background that includes country and bluegrass, garage rock and punk, folk and reggae, rock and jazz. They met in the mid-2000s and shared their love for the blues playing in a local bar band. In 2011 they gave birth to SLIDIN’ CHARLIE & BOO SHAKE, a duo that approaches the blues matter from a new angle.

Charlie and Boo mix the Chicago taverns with the Mississippi Delta, treasure the suggestions offered by late-60s rock-blues, add the warmth of the North Mississippi Hills and propose a raw, dynamic and straightforward repertoire based on the symbiosis between drums (a second-lead instrument by all means) and electric guitar. The duo faces the sonic matter with no prejudice: the solid yet personalized blues roots make the foundation of the song list at their live gigs, which includes self-penned songs as well as traditional stuff from the likes of Robert Johnson, Leadbelly, Elmore James, Hound Dog Taylor, Muddy Waters and R.L. Burnside. Charlie and Boo go even further: with no blinkers, their repertoire includes contributions from the Velvet Underground, Bob Dylan, the Black Uhuru, from all of which they extract some blues juice.

1 Try Me

Track list:
01 Try Me
02 Between You and Me
03 Driving
04 A New Man
05 My Redhead
06 A Long Time Ago
07 Once I Had a Girl
08 When You Got a Good Girl
09 Bad Thoughts
10 Bourgeois Blues

Carlo Pipitone (vocals, guitars)
Giuseppe Buscemi (drums)

FACEBOOK: Slidin’ Charlie & Boo Shake
YOUTUBE: Slidin’ Charlie & Boo Shake

Ook op Blues Magazine ...