Roots Music Troubadour Eric Bibb Releases 2 CD Set, Global Griot, on October 26 on Stony Plain Records

Grammy-Nominated Roots Music Troubadour Eric Bibb is a Global Griot on New 2-CD Set from Stony Plain Records, Due Out October 26

Eric Bibb - Global Griot

Stony Plain Records announces an October 26 release date for Grammy-nominated roots music troubadour Eric Bibb’s new 2-CD set, Global Griot (“GREE-O”). Recorded in Sweden, Canada and several other studios around the world in late 2017, Global Griot features special guest appearances by World Music star Habib Koité, with whom Eric recorded the acclaimed Brothers in Bamako album in 2012, as well as acclaimed West African musician Solo Cissokho, a master of the kora, the 22-stringed harp creating cascades of notes and beautifully-addictive grooves. Eric’s long-time friend and music compadre Harrison Kennedy is also a special guest, singing on “Brazos River Blues,” “Black, Brown & White,” “Listen for the Spirit” and “Spirit Day.”

Watch a video about the making of Global Griot here:

ERIC BIBB - EPK Global Griot

“‘Global Griot’ – two words that describe many of my friends and myself, as well,” says Eric Bibb about his new album. “Connecting to the West African tradition of storytelling and oral history through music, this album features brothers and sisters from around the globe – serving the listener a tasty gumbo, spiced with hope for these challenging times.”

On Global Griot, the masterful Eric Bibb adapts the West African historian and oral storyteller tradition with his own background of blues, folk and world music for a scintillating blend of sound that is absolutely mesmerizing. Bibb also pulls no punches with his songs that tackle our current state of affairs in the world, with socio/political commentary on everything from our desire for conspicuous consumption (“We Don’t Care,” the album’s first single out today) to the present occupant of the White House (“What’s He Gonna Say Today”).

Watch the “We Don’t Care” lyric video:

Eric Bibb ft. Habib Koité - We Don't Care

Eric Bibb – Global Griot – Track Listing

Disc One:

  1. Gathering of the Tribes – featuring Solo Cissokho
  2. Wherza Money At
  3. Human River
  4. What’s He Gonna Say Today
  5. Brazos River Blues
  6. We Don’t Care – featuring Habib Koité
  7. Black, Brown & White
  8. Listen for the Spirit
  9. Hoist up the Banner
  10. Mami Wata / Sebastian’s Tune – featuring Habib Koité
  11. Send Me Your Jesus
  12. A Room For You
  13. Remember Family

Disc Two:

  1. Race & Equality
  2. Grateful
  3. All Because
  4. Spirit Day – featuring Solo Cissokho
  5. Let God
  6. Last Night I had the Strangest Dream
  7. Picture a New World (instrumental)
  8. New Friends – featuring Linda Tillery
  9. Mole in the Ground
  10. Michael, Row da Boat Ashore
  11. Needed Time

Ook op Blues Magazine ...