Foto Recensie: Catfish Keith - Mississippi River Blues

Catfish Keith – Mississippi River Blues
Format: CD – LP – Digital / Label: Fish Tail Records
Releasedatum: 17 juli 2017

Tekst: Iain Patience

Us acoustic and steel-slide guitarist, Catfish Keith is a truly remarkable picker, a guy who is always raw, raucous and decidedly interesting and enjoyable. Known for his truly astonishing string-bending, he is a seriously excellent performer with his feet firmly planted in the pre-war and Delta blues tradition. ‘Mississippi River Blues’, his latest offering is a simply stunningly executed album that rips and roils wildly, with never a dull moment or track in the mix. This is traditional acoustic blues at its very best.

Anybody who has yet to try Catfish Keith would be well-recommended to start right here with this release. Tracks include covers from Frank Stokes, the Mississippi Sheiks, Blind Willie Johnson and a raft of other old, blues masters, but always done with a delightful Catfish Keith twist and sound that immediately marks them out as ‘Keiths.’ This is one of those rare things, an album from a top-notch picker with a pretty unique, signature sound. Nobody sounds quit like this guy, and his vocals are also more than up to the job at hand.

Two tracks are, for me, absolute stand-out tracks that hi-light why this guy is so good: John Hurt’s Candyman – never an easy cut to pull-off, and Shake Sugaree, here a real treat, an unmissable take on an old standard that could very easily prove to the definitive version, a sensitive and soulful benchmark for many years to come.


01. It Wont Be Long Now
02. Just Can’t Keep From Crying
03. Please Baby
04. Telling You Pretty Mama
05. Sleepy-Eyed John
06. Reefer Hound
07. Mississippi River Blues
08. The Whale Swallowed Jonah
09. Cancion Mixteca
10. Jumpin’ Jack Rabbit
11. Candyman
12. Weed
13. Mama Don’t You Sell It, Papa Don’t You Give It Away
14. Shake Sugaree

Website: Catfish Keith

Ook op Blues Magazine ...