Studio Debut of Castro’s Lean, Biting New Band: Scorching Record Also Includes Appearances By Marcia Ball, Tab Benoit, Joe Bonamassa, and The Holmes Brothers


TOMMY CASTRO And The Pain Killers
The Devil You Know

Label: Alligator Records
Format: CD / LP
Release date: 21 January 2014

[bol_product_links block_id=”bol_52cb34dfb1df0_selected-products” products=”9200000022065788″ name=”TommyCastro” sub_id=”” link_color=”003399″ subtitle_color=”000000″ pricetype_color=”000000″ price_color=”CC3300″ deliverytime_color=”009900″ background_color=”FFFFFF” border_color=”D2D2D2″ width=”250″ cols=”1″ show_bol_logo=”undefined” show_price=”1″ show_rating=”1″ show_deliverytime=”1″ link_target=”1″ image_size=”1″ admin_preview=”1″]

>> Premiere Stream: Tommy Castro & The Painkillers “The Devil You Know” <<

“I’m always moving forward, going outside of my wheelhouse, listening to new music and incorporating new ideas,” says award-winning guitarist/vocalist/songwriter Tommy Castro. “The contemporary blues scene is full of fresh, new sounds. It’s an exciting time.”

Indeed, Castro is famed for his signature brand of tough, rocking rhythm and blues, thrilling fans around the world with his incendiary live performances. With his turbo-charged new Alligator Records album, The Devil You Know, Castro strips his music down to its raw essence as he rockets into the next phase of his storied career.

The Devil You Know, recorded in the Bay Area with his fiery new band The Painkillers and produced by Castro and Bonnie Hayes, is a contemporary tour de force. The album is an untamed, high-energy set of 13 songs, including nine written or co-written by Castro. “For the new album I challenged myself to add different sounds and new rhythms to my style while remaining true to my roots. I wrote using ideas for songs and ideas for sounds together in a way I’d never done before,” explains Castro, “using drum rhythms to drive the lyrics.” The tracks – melodic and biting, energetic and fun – are brought to life with sonic authority by bassist Randy McDonald (from the original Tommy Castro Band), keyboardist James Pace, and original Painkillers drummer Byron Cage.

In addition, many of Castro’s friends and admirers, including Alligator labelmates Marcia Ball and The Holmes Brothers, add their talents to the proceedings. Other guests include guitarists Joe Bonamassa and Mark Karan, guitarist/vocalist Tab Benoit, vocalists Samantha Fish and Tasha Taylor, and harmonica player Magic Dick. Each song comes loaded with emotional depth and muscular hooks courtesy of Castro’s soulful singing, insightful lyrics and dynamic, potent guitar playing.

Tommy Castro And The Painkillers The Devil You Know Track Listing:

1. The Devil You Know – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers
2. Second Mind – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers
3. I’m Tired – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers feat. Joe Bonamassa
4. Center of Attention – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers
5. The Whale Have Swallowed Me – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers feat. Tasha Taylor
6. When I Cross The Mississippi – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers feat. Tab Benoit & Mark Karan
7. Mojo Hannah – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers feat. Marcia Ball
8. Two Steps Forward – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers feat. Magic Dick & The Holmes Brothers
9. She Wanted To Give It To Me – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers
10. Keep On Smilin’ – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers feat. Mark Karan
11. Medicine Woman – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers feat. Samantha Fish
12. That’s All I Got – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers *
13. Greedy – Tommy Castro & The Painkillers *

* Not on LP but included with download card

Ook op Blues Magazine ...