Blind Pig Records has announced a December 14th release date for The Essential Popa Chubby, a budget-priced CD from the high octane New York guitarist.

For this special collection , Popa Chubby hand-picked sixteen of the hottest fan favorites from his ten Blind Pig releases over the past decade. This electrifying selection showcases not only his hard-charging fire and brimstone, but also Popa’s engaging storytelling, versatility and distinctive fusing of differing genres and styles such as old school R&B, rap, funk, outlaw country, melodic rock, and blues.

Popa Chubby first come to prominence with his breakout early 90’s hit “Sweet Goddess of Love and Beer” from the Tom Dowd produced ! ‘Booty And The Beast’ album. Since then the prolific guitarist and songwriter has released ten CDs and a live performance DVD for indie roots label Blind Pig.

Popa’s highly creative fusion of rock ‘n’ roll with traditional blues and R&B styles led Billboard to say, “If Muddy Waters was a modern blues artist, then Popa Chubby is a post-modern bluesman.” And the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette summed it up well with the comment, “Popa Chubby is a blues rocker whose take-no-prisoners blues rock screams with the defiance of the best scorched-earth rock ‘n’ roll filtered through his bluesy id.”

The Essential Popa Chubby

The Essential Popa Chubby

Format : CD / Label : Blind Pig Records / Release : December 2010

01. Daddy Played The Guitar And Mama Was A Disco Queen
02. How’d A White Boy Get The Blues
03. Somebody Let The Devil Out
04. If The Diesel Don’t Get You Then The Jet Fuel Will
05. Like The Buddha Do
06. Life Is A Beatdown
07. Sweet Goddess Of Love & Beer
08. Hey Joe
09. Hallelujah
10. Back In My Baby’s Arms
11. Slide Devil Man Slide
12. Deliveries After Dark
13. Grown Man Crying Blues
14. The Fight Is On
15. Another Ten Years Gone
16. Keep On The Sunnyside Of Life

Website :

Ook op Blues Magazine ...