The Blues Foundation

Blues Hall of Fame inductees announced: Roebuck “Pops” Staples, Sam Lay, Georgia Tom Dorsey

6 maart 2018|Categories: Nieuws|Tags: , |

THE BLUES HALL OF FAME WELCOMES ROEBUCK “POPS” STAPLES, SAM LAY, MAMIE SMITH, GEORGIA TOM DORSEY AND THE ACES AS ITS NEWEST MEMBERS ON MAY 9 AT THE BLUES FOUNDATION’S 39TH ANNUAL INDUCTION CEREMONY. Historic recordings by Ma Rainey, B.B. King, Joe Turner, Bo Diddley, Albert King, and Booker T. & the MG’s will also be recognized with Hall of Fame induction.

Recensie: Various Artist – International Blues Challenge # 33

18 december 2017|Categories: Recensies|Tags: , |

Vorig jaar telde de International Blues Challenge ruim 250 acts. Daarvan zijn veertien acts, die allen tot de finale waren doorgedrongen geselecteerd voor de cd 'International Blues Challenge # 33' ter promotie van de Blues Challenge van 2018. Deze cd is een tweede uitgave van de Bluesfoundation in samenwerking met Frank Roszak Promotions, beiden gaven vorig jaar ook een dergelijke verzamel promotie cd uit, toen nog met negen titels, nu dus zelfs veertien tracks.

Blues Music Award nominees announced by the Blues Foundation

9 januari 2017|Categories: Nieuws|Tags: , |

THE BLUES FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES 38TH BLUES MUSIC AWARD NOMINEES. Universally recognized as the highest accolade afforded blues musicians, The Blues Music Awards upholds its rich cultural tradition by honoring the past year’s superior achievements in blues performance, songwriting, and recording. Check the complete list of 38th Blues Music Award nominees here!

The Blues Foundation Selects New President & CEO

22 augustus 2015|Categories: Nieuws|Tags: |

Barbara B. Newman has been selected to succeed Jay Sieleman as President and Chief Executive Officer of The Blues Foundation, the Memphis-based, international music organizationdedicated to preserving blues music history, celebrating recording and performance excellence, supporting blues educationand ensuring the future of this unique art form. She will take the helm October 1.