Southern family is a tribute to the soul of southern country music. These esteemed musicians, singers, and songwriters deliver a compelling and remarkable tribute to the families and places that shaped them. In Southern Family, you hear the results of each artist’s individual recipe, but they’re all cooking with a similar ingredient: the heritage of musicians relief from the bone-aching labor of hard-working people. These melodies are drawn from the well of generations-old folk ballads, spiritual hymns, blues, and early rock and roll. This is music as folk art, inspired by the hardships of resilient southerners of all cultures. These are songs as prayers, spoken in whispers that can only be heard by members of previous generations sharing a church pew with the artists that carry their legacy. These atmospheric recordings rely on feel, the elusive grit of humanity that can only be captured by people who truly believe in the music they are recording. Real honesty is at the heart of each recorded performance.

Southern Family is a Country compilation album put together and produced by Grammy nominated producer, Dave Cobb. Southern Family is simple and honest music, featuring all new original tracks by some of country’s biggest names. Available March 18th on Low Country Sound/Elektra Records.

Bestel bij

John Paul White, Jason Isbell, Brent Cobb, Miranda Lambert, Morgane Stapleton with Chris Stapleton, Zac Brown,
Jamey Johnson, Anderson East, Holly Williams, Brandy Clark, Shooter Jennings, Rich Robinson

Label: Low Country Sound/Elektra Records
Release: 18 March 2016

1. Simple Song (John Paul White)
2. God Is A Working Man (Jason Isbell)
3. Down Home (Brent Cobb)
4. Sweet By And By (Miranda Lambert)
5. You Are My Sunshine (Morgane Stapleton with Chris Stapleton)
6. Grandma’s Garden (Zac Brown)
7. Momma’s Table (Jamey Johnson)
8. Learning (Anderson East)
9. Settle Down (Holly Williams)
10. I Cried (Brandy Clark)
11. Can You Come Over? (Shooter Jennings)
12. The Way Home (Rich Robinson)

Ook op Blues Magazine ...