Southern Avenue – Keep On
Format: CD
Label: Concord Records
Releasedatum: 10 mei 2019

On their self-titled 2017 debut album, the boundary-breaking Memphis combo Southern Avenue sparked a one-band musical revolution, embodying an effortlessly organic soul/blues/R&B fusion that reflects the band members’ diverse roots as well as their deep commitment to their chosen style. On their second album ‘Keep On’, set for release on May 10, 2019 via Concord Records, the dynamic outfit expands its gritty musical vision to embrace new musical challenges and a more expansive creative vision.

Southern Avenue combines the talents of a prodigiously talented set of young musicians who bring their individual backgrounds to the table to create music that carries the Southern soul legacy into the 21st century, spanning the band members’ wide-ranging musical interests while showcasing the powerful chemistry and electrifying live show that they’ve honed through extensive stage and studio experience. Since the release of their debut, Southern Avenue has played in over a dozen countries and wowed audiences at such festivals as Bonnaroo, Firefly, Electric Forest and Lockn’.

Guitar phenom Ori Naftaly originally built his reputation in his native Israel before joining forces with deeply expressive Memphis-bred singer Tierinii Jackson and her subtly powerful drummer sister Tikyra Jackson. The band’s lineup is rounded out by versatile keyboardist Jeremy Powell, an early alumnus of Stax Records’ renowned music academy.

‘Keep On’ brilliantly captures Southern Avenue’s combustible chemistry, with the emotion-charged energy of such distinctive originals as Whiskey Love, Savior, Too Good for You and We Are Not So Different reflecting the players’ evolving talents as well as the influence of the extensive roadwork that they’ve invested in the band.
The musicians recorded the album with producer Johnny Black (Jessie J, Daughtry, Estelle) at Memphis’ legendary Sam Phillips Recording, with guest appearances by seminal Stax Records artist William Bell, noted Memphis musician Gage Markey (who serves as guest bassist on most of the album) and a horn section comprised of Art Edmaiston (JJ Grey & Mofro, Gregg Allman) and Marc Franklin (The Bo-Keys, Gregg Allman).

01. Keep On
02. Whiskey Love
03. Savior
04. Switchup
05. The Tea I Sip
06. Lucky
07. Jive
08. Too Good For You
09. We Are Not So Different
10. We’ve Got The Music
11. She Gets Me High
12. We’re Gonna Make It

Website: Southern Avenue

10.06 – Ribs & Blues, Raalte

Lees ook :