Sonny Landreth – Recorded Live In Lafayette

After a dozen acclaimed albums, virtuoso slide guitarist and bandleader Sonny Landreth found himself at an artistic crossroads. He wanted to finally create the full-length acoustic collection his fans had long requested. But he was also itching to capture the sound of his stalwart electric trio augmented by a couple of his favorite collaborators. And the time was certainly right for an elastic, career-spanning double-live album.
So Landreth and his longtime friends decided to do it all. ‘Recorded Live in Lafayette’ is a 16-song opus that covers more musical ground than any single album ever could, as the singer and songwriter’s work stretches and twists across 93 minutes of full-band acoustic and electric bottleneck lightning.

New video: Soul Salvation

The double CD and vinyl release on Provogue is available now and includes the most extensive acoustic set ever recorded by Landreth, opens with acoustic arrangements of the artist’s tunes dating back to the 1981 title cut of his debut album, ‘Blues Attack.’ “It gives you a chance to explore those songs in a different way,” Landreth says, describing the textures created by the intersection of Dave Ranson’s ukulele bass, Brian Brignac’s cajón, Steve Conn’s accordion and Sam Broussard’s acoustic guitar. “The familiarity is there,” he adds, “but I also wanted to turn those guys loose as much as possible.”

Sonny Landreth - Recorded Live In Lafayette

Sonny Landreth – Recorded Live In Lafayette

Available formats: 2CD, 2LP and Digital
Label: Provogue
Release date: 30 June 2017

Track List

Disc 1: Acoustic
1 Blues Attack
2 Hell At Home
3 Key To The Highway
4 Creole Angel
5 A World Away
6 The High Side
7 Bound By The Blues
8 The U.S.S. Zydecoldsmobile

Disc 2: Electric
1 Back To Bayou Teche
2 True Blue
3 The Milky Way Home
4 Brave New Girl
5 Überesso
6 Soul Salvation
7 Walkin’ Blues
8 The One And Only Truth