Sony Music in association with Capo Records and Legacy are proud to re-issue the first six original Rory Gallagher albums in chronological release date order – “Rory Gallagher”(1971), “Deuce” (1971), “Live In Europe!” (1972), “Blueprint” (1973), “Tattoo” (1973) and “Irish Tour ’74” (1974). These seminal re-issued albums celebrate 40 years since the start of Rory’s solo career.


Rory Gallagher was a musician like no other. He was, and still is, one of the world’s greatest guitarists, singers, song writers and live showmen. His music lives on through generations of today’s hottest guitarists including Slash, Joe Bonamassa, Brian May, Johnny Marr and The Edge; and also through his amazing catalogue including some of his finest works included in this collection of releases, his first six albums.

These milestone albums were released during Rory’s most prolific years (1971-74), when he recorded and produced 6 albums in a 3 year period. Each of the albums is now re-released in digipack form, with artwork restored from the original first release cover art. The audio has been re-mastered from the original ¼” inch tapes. Each album includes exclusive sleeve notes written by Donal Gallagher; Rory’s brother and former tour manager, legendary photographer Mick Rock, and British journalist Roy Hollingworth.


As Daniel Gallagher, Rory’s Nephew and producer of the re-issues states, “It’s fantastic that 40 years since the original release of these albums the interest in Rory’s music is still so strong and vibrant that we can celebrate the man’s music by re-issuing his first six classic solo albums. We’ve aimed to release them in the spirit of the original release by going back to the vinyl artwork and original 1/4″ tapes so that they look and sound exactly as Rory intended. It’s also great to see in a digital world that the demand for a physical copy of Rory’s music means we can release these albums on vinyl for the first time in over 30 years.”

The albums are now available on CD, digital download and vinyl (through Music On Vinyl).

rory gallagher

After releasing two critically acclaimed albums with his first band, Taste, and playing the Isle of Wight in 1970, Rory left the band to pursue a solo career.  His eponymous debut solo album was released in 1971. Standout tracks include “Laundromat”, “I Fall Apart” and “Sinner Boy”. The new re-issue includes two bonus tracks originally recorded during the original sessions. The two recordings are dedicated to two of Rory’s blues heroes.  The first bonus track is Rory’s version of the Muddy Waters classic ‘“Gypsy Woman”. The second bonus track, “It Takes Time”, is a version of Chicago blues guitarist, Otis Rush.


Featuring the tracks “in Your Town” and “Crest of a Wave”, “Deuce” became Rory’s third self-penned album in a row – having written all of Taste’s second album “On The Boards” as well as the debut solo album “Rory Gallagher”. “Deuce” was recorded at Tangerine Studios in Dalston, East London, which had been built by the legendary British record producer Joe Meek.

live in europe

“Live! In Europe” was Rory’s first official live album, and was recorded throughout Europe during February and March 1972. The album was re-mastered from the original tapes by Andy Pearce and Matt Wortham at Wired Masters, November 2011. “Live! In Europe” is widely considered to be one of the greatest live recordings ever captured; it was also Rory’s first UK top-10 album.

“Live! In Europe” has served as a massive influence on budding musicians. U2’s Adam Clayton and The Edge both cite the album as the recording that made them want to pick up the guitar and play in a rock’n’roll  band. Choice cuts from the live album include “Bullfrog Blues” and “Messin’ With The Kid”. The newly re-mastered album includes two additional bonus tracks – “What In The World” and “Hoodoo Man”.


After six years working as a trio (guitar, bass, drums), Rory embellished his sound by adding keyboards into the band. The line-up of Rory Gallagher (vocals, guitars), Gerry McAvoy (bass), Lou Martin (keyboards) and Rod De’Ath (drums, percussion), remained together from 1973-78, and would record five albums, “Blueprint” was the first. Along with stand-out track “Walk On Hot Coals”, the newly re-mastered version of “Blueprint” includes two bonus tracks from the original recording sessions, including “Stompin’ Ground”, and the Roy Head classic “Treat Her Right”. 


For his fifth solo album, rehearsals for “Tattoo” started in a rowing club in Cork City. The album was released in the same year (1973), nine months after the “Blueprint” album.  Signature tracks include “Tattoo’d Lady”, “Cradle Rock” and “A Million Miles Away. The new reissue includes the bonus track “Tucson, Arizona”, written by the legendary American guitarist, Link Wray.

irish tour

Considered by blues rock guitarist, Joe Bonamassa, to be one of the most influential live albums of all time, “Irish Tour ’74” was recorded at Belfast Ulster Hall, Dublin Carlton Cinema and Cork City Hall, during a time when live music was a rare occurrence, due to the troubles that were then at their most violent peak. “Back On My Stompin’ Ground (After Hours)” was recorded at sessions during the tour on the Lane Mobile Unit. The reissue CD liner notes capture the excitement of the Belfast concert; “Two thousand people were overjoyed as Gallagher – a native of Cork, Southern Ireland – took to the Ulster Hall stage just 24 hours after the city had witnessed its biggest bomb blast during a night of at least 10 explosions.”

Ook op Blues Magazine ...