Op 31 Maart 2014 verschijnt het nieuwe album van Robert Cray. Zie hier de album trailer…

The Robert Cray Band - In My Soul - Album Trailer

De volgende shows zijn bevestigd voor Nederland:
23 Mei 2014 – Amsterdam – Paradiso
24 Mei 2014 – Zwolle – Hedon



Cray reunites with producer, and friend Steve Jordan for 2014 worldwide release “IN MY SOUL” on 31st of March

Legendary guitar musician and singer-songwriter Robert Cray releases In My Soul on March 31, 2014 on the Provogue label. This will be the seventeenth studio album for the 5x Grammy winner, 15x Grammy nominee and multi-platinum selling artist.

Produced by American multi-instrumentalist, composer, musical director, Grammy Award-winning artist and longtime Cray friend Steve Jordan (John Mayer, Keith Richards), In My Soul captures Cray at his finest with an outstanding 10 song collection of Staxx and Chess influenced soul and blues that showcases his trademark guitar playing and his extraordinary vocals. A bonus track “Pillow” will also be included on the limited edition CD.

From the driving original classic Cray “You Move Me”  with its scorching guitar leads, to the melodic 60’s sway of “Fine Yesterday”  featuring Cray’s trademark soul drenched vocals, In My Soul draws listeners in very quickly.

Recorded at Santa Barbara Sound and engineered by Niko Bolas, In My Soul features the Otis Redding cover “Nobody’s Fault But My Own” that finds Cray trading vocals with drummer Les Falconer and features a punchy horn ensemble and catchy guitar verse. The moving Cray penned “What Would You Say” pierced with his unique guitars licks, has Cray dreaming about a better world and in traditional Cray fashion asking listeners, “What would you say if we quit waging war, children felt safe to sleep. One of these days we may all learn to talk over a table with something to eat. What would you say? Can we do that, What would you say?”

Longtime bandmate Richard Cousins co-wrote the Booker T homage, an instrumental entitled “Hip Tight Onions” as well as the poignant 70’s tinged “Hold On” that talks about relationship perseverance during difficult times. Cries of lost love are told in both “Pillow”, the haunting bonus track co-written by Cray and Jerry Friedman as well as “I Guess I’ll Never Know” the funky hard driven tune co-written by Falconer. The album also features a version of “Deep In My Soul” a staple in the set list of the great soul and blues singer Bobby Blue Bland as well as a version of the Isaac Hayes / David Porter cover “Your Good Thing (Is About to End)” first recorded by Motown’s Mable John in 1966 and then became a hit single for Lou Rawls in 1969.

New Yorker Magazine (Sept 2013) calls Cray “One of the most reliable pleasures of soul and blues for over three decades now… “and Rolling Stone Magazine (4/2012) credited Cray’s Strong Persuader album to having reinvented the blues with his “distinct razor sharp guitar playing” that “introduced a new generation of mainstream rock fans to the language and form of the blues.”

Robert Cray has written or performed with everyone from Eric Clapton to Stevie Ray Vaughan, from Bonnie Raitt to John Lee Hooker.  Inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame at the age of 57, he is one of the youngest living legends to receive the prestigious honor. With over 12 million records sold and his own line of Fender guitars, Cray has established himself as a genre defining artist- breaking through the pop ceiling with his gate crashing/blues-edged trademark sound and distinct style that has become a signature blend of r&b, pop, rock, soul and traditional blues.  The New York Times says, “his voice, alternately smooth and craggy, is often richer and more emotive than Mr. Clapton’s, and he knows the best ways to use it,” while Guitar Player Magazine noted, “Robert Cray is not only making great music he’s making history…”

And while he can look back over an astonishing four-decade career (this year marks the 40th Anniversary of the formation of the Robert Cray Band!) Robert Cray is too busy moving forward on an amazing journey and embarking on yet another world tour with the Robert Cray Band. The band includes Cray (vocals/guitar), Richard Cousins (bass), Dover Weinberg (piano/keyboard) and Les Falconer (drums).

In My Soul offers an array of powerful material that displays Cray’s amazing and unique guitar sound, his passionate and soulful vocals alongside awarding winning songwriting and musicianship. A cutting collection of tunes that will please longtime fans yet offers a purity of new life for first time listeners.

Robert Cray
Photo Credit: © Jeff Katz

In My Soul

Label: Provogue
Release date: 31 March 2014

1 You Move Me
2 Nobody’s Fault But Mine
3 Fine Yesterday
4 Your Good Thing’s About To Come To An End
5 I Guess I’ll Never Know
6 Hold On
7 What Would You Say
8 Hip Tight Onions
9 You’re Everything
10 Deep In My Soul
11 Pillow (bonus track)*

Robert Cray – Official Website: www.robertcray.com

Ook op Blues Magazine ...