Robben Ford
Night In The City

Formats: CD-digipak / 180g black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve / Digital
Label: earMUSIC (V2)
Release: 1 December 2023
Bestellen: Lokale platenwinkel of online

“If a live recording really represents the best of you – that’s a real, and even rare success”. – Robben Ford

Robben Ford is, without doubt, one of the most exquisite blues guitarists of all-time with a resume of collaborations reading like a veritable “who’s who” of musical greats. It is for this very reason he can call upon some of the finest musicians out there to create a band that serves the music so well. That’s also why every album release is greeted with such excitement. Each listen is a musical journey undertaken to discover the wonders of his latest opus.

Robben Ford - Night In The City (albumcover photo)

As a live performer, he is revered, pouring heart and soul into every note that travels from stage to audience. On his latest release “Night In The City”, this master of his craft is presented like never before. Recorded at City Winery, Nashville in 2021, it was Ford’s first performance after the Covid lockdown. Something which only added to the excitement and expectation from both band and crowd. As Robben stated: “It had been so long since playing a significant, live show that expectations were very much heightened. There was an edge that kept us all on our toes and the audience was hungry for a good time. They were very supportive, which was great, because we needed that”.

The superlative musicianship throughout is a joy to behold and something Robben in his role as bandleader was able to reflect on: “The fact that I had such a great band is what made the evening for me. Each musician was the perfect man for the job and that helps a band leader relax. All the guys are top, in demand players”.

With a setlist that covers material old and new, an exceptional evening was captured to be enjoyed by all. You can already dive into it, as the previously unreleased track “Anto’Nate’n’Tate” is available everywhere as you read these lines.

Listen to “Anto’Nate’n’Tate” on all digital platforms HERE Watch the video for “Anto’Nate’n’Tate” HERE

“NIGHT IN THE CITY” is going to be released on December 1st, 2023 on earMUSIC as CD-digipak, 180g black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve and on all digital platforms.

1. Robben Ford – Go (Live)
2. Robben Ford – Blues For Lonnie Johnson (Live)
3. Robben Ford – Cotton Candy (Live)
4. Robben Ford – Balafon (Live)
5. Robben Ford – Anto’Nate’n’Tate (Live)
6. Robben Ford – Just Another Country Road (Live)
7. Robben Ford – Pure / White Rock Beer…8 Cents (Live)
8. Robben Ford – At The Apollo (Live)

Ook op Blues Magazine ...