Muddy Waters & Rolling Stones - Live at The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981

Muddy Waters & Rolling Stones – Live at The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981
Format: DVD / DVD + CD / DVD + 2LP
Label: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Release: 10 juli 2012 (vinyl set : 11 september 2012)

Ruim dertig jaar geleden, op 22 november 1981, stapten de Stones tijdens een concert van Muddy Waters spontaan het podium op om samen met de legendarische blueszanger een uniek optreden te geven. Ook Buddy Guy, Junior Wells en Lefty Dizz waren die avond van de partij. Vastgelegd en opgepoetst door Bob Clearmountain is de show vanaf 10 juli beschikbaar op o.a. dvd.

On July 10, Eagle Rock Entertainment will release a DVD and special two-disc DVD/CD package of Muddy Waters & The Rolling Stones Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981. With the advantage of DTS Surround Sound, Dolby Digital 5.1 and Dolby Digital Stereo, this 90-minute wang-dang-doodle has been lovingly preserved for the ages. Heretofore only available as a bootleg, the recording captures a unique moment in history when the four Stones made an unscheduled appearance alongside Muddy and his band to the absolute delight of the lucky patrons.

Obviously, the Stones stopped in to check him out. Muddy soon called Mick Jagger, Ron Wood, Keith Richards and Ian Stewart (the band’s touring piano player and one of its earliest semi-members) onto the stage, and the four Stones jammed with Muddy and his band to the delight of Muddy’s lucky patrons.

Luckily, it was all caught on camera and recorded. You can check out a low-quality YouTube video of the night in the clip below — but don’t worry, the DVD looks and sounds much better

Muddy Waters w/ Rolling Stones - Champagne and Reefer


1) Sweet Little Angel
2) Flip Flop And Fly
3) Muddy Waters Introduction
4) You Don’t Have To Go
5) Country Boy
6) Baby Please Don’t Go
7) Hoochie Coochie Man
8) Long Distance Call
9) Mannish Boy
10) Got My Mojo Working
11) Next Time You See Me
12) One Eyed Woman
13) Baby Please Don’t Go (Instrumental)
14) Blow Wind Blow
15) Champagne & Reefer

1) Introduction Instrumental
2) You Don’t Have To Go
3) Baby Please Don’t’ Go
4) Hoochie Coochie Man
5) Long Distance Call
6) Mannish Boy
7) Got My Mojo Working
8) Next Time You See Me
9) One Eyed Woman
10) Blow Wind Blow
11) Champagne & Reefer

Ook op Blues Magazine ...