John Hiatt – Dirty Jeans and Mudslide Hymns

Label : New West / Sonic RendezVous – Release datum: 2 augustus 2011

John Hiatt komt op 2 augustus met zijn nieuwste schijf “Blue Jeans and Mudslide Hymns”.
Het album is geproduceers door Kevin “Caveman” Shirley (Black Crowes, Aerosmithh, Joe Boanmassa) en is John Hiatt’s meest dynamische album van de afgelopen 10 jaar.

John Hiatt - Dirty Jeans and Mudslide HymnsHet album komt uit in drie versies::
CD (NW6206)
Deluxe CD/DVD (NW6209)
Double 180g vinyl (NW5036)

1. Damn This Town 4:52
2. ‘Til I Get My Lovin’ Back 3:27
3. I Love That Girl 4:19
4. All The Way Under 3:49
5. Don’t Wanna Leave You Now 5:42
6. Detroit Made 3:52
7. Hold On For Your Love 6:21
8. Train To Birmingham 3:37
9. Down Around My Place 5:59
10. Adios To California 3:46
11. When New York Had Her Heart Broke 5:08


“…one of rock’s most astute singer-songwriters of the last 40 years.”––Los Angeles Times

Dirty Jeans and Mudslide Hymns, the new album from acclaimed musician and songwriter John Hiatt, will be released August 2 on New West Records. This is Hiatt’s twentieth solo
album and follows his acclaimed 2010 release, The Open Road, which the Los Angeles Times heralded as a, “bluesy, heartland-soaked musical excursion,” while the Buffalo News declared it “a classic for the future.” As an added bonus, a deluxe version of the album will be made available, which will include a special behind-the-scenes DVD, The Making of Dirty Jeans and Mudslide Hymns and 24/96 High Resolution audio mix of the entire album. Additionally, Hiatt will tour continuously in support of the record, including co-headling tours with Lyle Lovett and Big Head Todd and the Monsters.

Dirty Jeans and Mudslide Hymns was recorded at Ben’s Studio in Nashville and was produced by Kevin Shirley (Led Zeppelin, Aerosmith, The Black Crowes). In addition to Hiatt, the album features Kenneth Blevins on drums and percussion, Doug Lancio on electric guitars, mandolin and Hammertone and Patrick O’Hearn on bass guitar. As a preview to fans, the album’s opening track and first single, “Damn This Town,” is currently available to stream on Hiatt’s Facebook page.

John Hiatt’s career as a performer and songwriter has spanned more than 30 years and his work has been covered by everyone from Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, BB King, and Bonnie Raitt to Iggy Pop, Three Dog Night and The Neville Brothers. Hiatt began his solo career with the 1974 album Hangin’ Around the Observatory. His landmark 1987 release Bring The
Family received critical praise and was his first album to chart in the U.S. In 1993, Rhino Records released Love Gets Strange: The Songs of John Hiatt, which collected many of the
cover versions of his songs that were recorded during the 80s and 90s. 2000’s Crossing Muddy Waters was released to critical acclaim and was called “The most natural and relaxed John Hiatt album in years…” by All Music Guide. In 2008, Hiatt was inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame and was honored by the Americana Music Association with their prestigious “Lifetime Achievement in Songwriting Award.

Ook op Blues Magazine ...