Trond Olsen Band - Mercy

Trond Olsen Band – Mercy
Released: Oct 17, 2014. Toneland

Text: Iain Patience

An absolutely fabulous second album here from the northern reaches of Europe. ‘Mercy’ is an eleven-track bit of great blues with ten tracks written by band leader-frontman, Trond Olson, and including a cracking cover of Robert Johnston’s old classic, ‘Come On In My Kitchen’, – a hard cut to give a fresh feel – featuring former John Mayall Bluesbreaker sideman Buddy Whittington on guitar.

This is a Norwegian outfit, who clearly know their way around the blues; a follow-up release to Olsen’s 2009 debut, ‘A New Day Comin’, ‘Mercy’ should win the band blues fans aplenty; full of strong, sensitive, soulful guitar from Olson himself, and always alongside perfect percussion from Morten Bergstrom, Lars Hammerlsand on Keys and Frank Hovland on booming Bass. Vocal credits again lie with Olsen.

Mostly electrically-driven blues in the mix, the album closes with a haunting, nicely pitched acoustic piece from Olsen, ‘You’ll Be Around’. This is a wonderful discovery, a truly excellent album full of gritty northern blues. Positively rcommended.


1 Come On In My Kitchen (feat. Buddy Whittington)
2 Sammy’s
3 How Can We Change
4 Mercy
5 Don’t Miss the Train
6 Morning Blues (feat. Buddy Whittington)
7 Call My Number
8 Real Deal
9 Riverside
10 How Long
11 You’ll Be Around