Foto Recensie: Tiffany Pollack & Eric Johanson - Blues In My Blood

Tiffany Pollack & Eric Johanson – Blues In My Blood
Format: CD – Digital  / Label: Nola Blue Records
Releasedatum: 15 februari 2019

Tekst: Iain Patience

Acclaimed New Orleans jazz Singer Tiffany Pollack, and Whiskey Bayou Records guitarist Eric Johanson have teamed up to give us ‘Blues In My Blood’. Pollack was reunited with her biological family at 25, discovering that she and Eric were third-generation members of a musical family.
The duo have now released a personal family celebration of the blues, with four selected covers and seven originals written or co written by Pollack and Johanson, also contributing is multi award winner Jack Miele who played on, recorded and produced the album at The Music Shed Studios.

Opening with title track Blues In My Blood a swampy blues slide guitar sets the scene as  powerful vocals from Pollack recall her life’s story and journey to discover the musical origins that’s always burned at her soul, slowing the pace with Memories To Forget, a wonderful ballad in which Johnny Sansome’s plaintive harmonica coerces wistfully heartfelt vocals from Johanson, Brentt  Arcement’s rhythmic drum beat and swirling organ from John Gros drive  the funkier Keep It Simple, having previously worked in the mortuary business Pollack delivers a poignant dirge from the perspective of an undertaker in a tribute to fallen solder Michael, with melancholic slide before the 504 Horns join the funeral procession, my highlight, next is the blues rocker Diamonds On The Crown.
Next a cover of The Stones No Expectations is played with a low-key country lilt highlighting the vocal harmonies, Pollack’s sultry vocals shine on a cover of Do I Move You by Nina Simone with some excellent keys from John Gros and slow driving guitar from Johanson. Then Johanson takes over the vocals on the southern rocker Slave Of Tomorrow, a touch of laidback Memphis blues on Get Lost With Me feature a soaring  guitar solo.
Joni Mitchell’s River is another beautifully played cover, closing the album with a slow tempo soulful version of the freedom song If I Had A Hammer vocally trading verses as they put the accent on the lyrics an excellent finale to an excellent album.

Tiffany Pollack and Eric Johanson - Blues in My Blood {OFFICIAL VIDEO}

01. Blues in My Blood
02. Memories To Forget
03. Keep It Simple
04. Michael
05. Diamonds of the Crown
06. No Expectations
07. Do I Move You
08. Slave of Tomorrow
09. Get Lost With Me
10. River
11. If I Had a Hammer


Ook op Blues Magazine ...