The Reverend Shawn Amos - The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You

The Reverend Shawn Amos – The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You
Label: PUT TOGETHER. Release date: October 16, 2015

Tekst: Iain Patience. Photo cover: Beth Herzhaft

This is a guy who sure knows how to rock; a blues-sailor riding the storm, switching from gospel through R&B rocky-torrents to pretty straight, full-on modern blues, with both eyes wide open and anchored in tradition.

His gospel creds are clear given his moniker, and the opener in this twelve-track release, “Days of Depression”, features pure-gold support from one of the best – the Blind Boys of Alabama, a flavour that hints at what’s packaged and lying in store. Amos positively rips along at times with some barrelling boogie-woogie, here coupled with the scorching, soul voice of Missy Andersen on one track and double-Grammy nominee saxman Mindi Abair on yet another, Jimmy Reed’s “Bright Lights, Big City”, a number that rocks and rushes along with confident ease.

Amos either wrote or co-wrote almost everything in this fine mix and his harp playing is subtle and poised, a welcome feature successfully avoiding the often prevalent, commanding, demanding wail of many bluesmen. Modern Americana – R&B – cum – country is also represented with a fine, drum-driven take on Minnie Lawler’s Illinois prison bangle “Joliet Bound”, here slipped in to soulful effect with delicious fretwork from guitarist Chris ‘Doctor’ Roberts around the half-way mark.

This is simply a strikingly strong blues album full of quality flourishes and touches. It should easily please most modern-blues lovers, keeping their interest and attention alive and warm, with variety of material, style – electric, soul, R&B, and acoustic – and pace all guaranteed.

1. Days of Depression (feat. Blind Boys of Alabama) 2:07
2. Brand New Man 2:07
3. Boogie (feat. Missy Andersen) 3:16
4. Brothers’ Keeper 3:10
5. You’re Gonna Miss Me (When I Get Home) 3:27
6. Joliet Bound 3:44
7. Will You Be Mine 5:34
8. The Outlaw 2:31
9. Bright Lights, Big City 3:04
10. Hollywood Blues 4:19
11. Put Together 2:45
12. The Last Day I’m Loving You


Ook op Blues Magazine ...