The Reverend Shawn Amos Breaks It Down

The Reverend Shawn Amos – Breaks It Down
Format: CD – Digital / Label: Put Together Records – CRS
Releasedatum: 16 februari 2018

Tekst: Iain Patience

The Reverend Shawn Amos is A West Coast bluesman with a keen eye and with that tends to slip out and shines with most recordings he delivers. His voice is soulful, mellow and melodic while often holding a promise of raw emotion and power. He describes this nine-track offering as being ‘…..Twenty-First century Freedom Songs,’ reflecting his deep personal commitment to social themes, equality, admiration and love of the late Dr Martin Luther-King.

Five tracks are original, self-written numbers, which feature alongside some surprise cuts, including the David Bowie mantra, The Jean Genie, a song Amos manages to pull from the fire with a surprising freshness and vitality. Bukka White’s striking Does My Life Matter, also surprises and holds a particularly potent message in these troubled times.

There are traces of funk, blues, straight-on soul, and gospel rattling around here in the mix. ‘Breaks It Down,’ is an album that could easily be missed, overlooked by many, but that would be a sad mistake, because Shawn Amos is a worthy musician, a man with a true feeling and command of the music he produces, writes and records and who simply grows stronger with each new offering.

01. Moved
02. 2017
03. Hold Hands
04. The Jean Genie
05. Uncle Tom’s Prayer
06. Does My Life Matter
07. We’ve Got To Come Together
08. Ain’t Gonna Name Names
09. (What’s So Funny About) Peace, Love and Understanding

Website: The Reverend Shawn Amos

Ook op Blues Magazine ...