Foto Recensie: Taj Mahal & Keb` Mo` - TajMo

Taj Mahal & Keb` Mo` – TajMo
Format: CD / Label:  Concord Records
Releasedatum: 5 mei 2017

Tekst:  Iain Patience

Two of modern blues music’s true greats finally matched and paired in a simply wonderful release that’s bound to gain both multitudes of new fans. This is an album bound for well-deserved glory; an award winner for sure and already – on only a few listens-  in line for album of the year, I reckon.

From start to finish this absolutely rocks, jam-packed full to bursting with stunning musicianship and vocals from both guys and a powerful, commanding, compelling, demanding riotously good understanding of good blues-based music. Not a sign of slippage or in-fill here at all – a welcome change from much around these days. At times, there’s a powerful Memphis soul sort of backing in the mix, a sound that adds sheer beauty and determined power.

I’ve had the luck to catch Taj Mahal a fair few times in recent years and know he can produce stunning sets, full of power, and at others he can kick off wildly inventive and strong but weaken and fade. Here, teamed up with possibly his own near-mirror image of yesteryear, Keb` Mo`, there’s no sign of this undercurrent. Instead we have a genuinely excellent offering. An absolute must-have album of the year for blues lovers of every stripe. Grab this one when you can, satisfaction guaranteed.

01. Don’t Leave Me Here
02. She Knows How To Rock Me
03. All Around The World
04. Om Sweet Om
05. Shake Me In Your Arms
06. That’s Who I Am
07. Diving Duck Blues
08. Squeeze Box
09. Ain’t Nobody Talkin’
10. Soul
11. Waiting On The World To Change

Website: Tajmo

9 juli: North Sea Jazz Festival – Rotterdam

Ook op Blues Magazine ...