Steve Howell & Jason Weinheimer – A Hundred Years From Today
Format: CD / Label: Out Of The Past Music
Releasedatum: 18 augustus 2017

Tekst: Iain Patience

A few years ago, in 2015, Steve Howell pushed out an excellent acoustic blues release, ‘Friend Like Me’, which merely hinted at just how talented he truly is, an album that had a sparkling immediacy and gained plaudits across the blues and roots music world. With this ten-track follow-up, Howell again shows just how well he understands the music and its significance.

Originally from Texas, Howell has moved around a fair bit with spells in Loiusiana, Pennsylvania and the UK all adding to his background and back-history. Here, joined by veteran, bad-ass bassist Jason Weinheimer, Howell has again produced the blues-goods with a masterful album that includes covers of his own major influence, Mississippi John Hurt, and additions from Bo Carter, before moving effortlessly through some mighty fine jazz standards from the likes of Jack Teagarden’s title track, and smoky hints of Wes Montgomery, classic Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington all drifting through the mix.

Try his delightful take on the old classic Fats Waller signature tune, Lulu’s Back In Town for starters, a perfectly pitched display of raw ability and tasteful picking. Overall, this is an album of top-quality, sensitively styled and delivered acoustic blues and southern jazz music. A wonderful addition to Howell’s growing body of work.

01. Lulu’s Back In Town
02. Kansas City Blues
03. Going Back To Florida
04. Louis Collins
05. A Hundred Years From Today
06. I’ve Got the Blues, Can’t Be Satisfied
07. Basin Street Blues
08. Limehouse Blues – After You’ve Gone
09. Who’s Been Here
10. Rocking Chair

Steve Howell

Gerelateerde artikelen
Filter by
Post Page
Sort by