Regina Bonelli – Love Letter
Format: CD – Digital / Label: True Groove Records
Releasedatum: 26 oktober 2018

Tekst: Iain Patience

Regina Bonelli is one of those ladies with a huge music presence. A New York/Staten Island resident, she has a stunning self-assurance and a remarkable voice that is never frayed and always hits to spot with its sheer strength and soaring quality.

‘Love Letter,’ her latest nine-track release features a few self-written songs alongside some more istantly recognizable standards including a raw-edged cover of the old Jagger-Richards favourite, Paint It Black, a song that never fails to get a foot-stomping, toe-tapping, sing-a-long response.

Bonelli herself hits the keys on Wurlizer at times bringing another side of her creative ability to light while her voice is always the mainstay of the album. A New York Blues Hall of Famer, she runs through a varied mix of blues, R&B and soulful stuff with an eye that always seems prepared to take on a musical challenge. In the past, Bonelli has worked with the likes of Ronnie Earl, Popa Chubby, Bobby Rush, Martha Reeves, The Temptations and even Paul Simon. As a result, there is a quiet, never pushed confidence here that few modern blues singers manage to achieve.

On a personal note, I’ve had the good-fortune to know of Bonelli and her music for a few years now and can only say that this album is a definite keeper and Bonneli a lady to sit up and take note of. You won’t be disappointed.

01 Don’t You Put Your Hands On Me
02 Playin’ In The Dirt
03 Nothing I Can’t Handle
04 Love Letter
05 Straighten My Crown
06 A Little Rain Must Fall
07 Talk Is Cheap
08 Paint It Black
09 The Ladder

Website: Regina Bonelli

Gerelateerde artikelen
Filter by
Post Page
Sort by