Paul Weller – Live At The Royal Festival Hall
Format: CD – Vinyl – DVD / Label: Warners – Parlophone Records
Releasedatum: 8 maart 2019

 Tekst: Iain Patience

Paul Weller may not be a name we immediately associate with blues music, but for many years – probably from his days fronting UK mod-rock pioneers The Jam  –  he has had a deeply held, personal interest in the music itself. Here we have a simply sumptuous offering, featuring Weller and his current band alongside a full orchestra.
A surprising pairing that delivers at every turn. Weller’s vocals are better than ever and his rhythmic mastery and harmonic savvy ensure this is a release worthy of widespread attention. The DVD itself includes some enjoyable ‘fly-on-the-wall’ moments, behind the scenes with the man voicing his thoughts and faltering anxieties about the whole undertaking at times.
It then moves on to capture the very essence of his current performance and ranges across years of work, with his last album, ‘True Meanings’, being firmly to the fore.
I’ve been increasingly impressed by each recent release this guy delivers. His last few albums, ‘Kind of Revolution’ and ‘True Meanings’ have both been absolutely excellent and this latest offering again lifts him into another musical dimension.
If anything, this album which includes the DVD of the action and comes with a CD download code and a deliciously rich triple vinyl album, could well prove to be the album. Weller has always been aiming to produce, a rich tapestry of interwoven sounds and lush orchestration that proves the guy remains very much at the top of the modern music tree.

CD 1:
01. One Bright Star
02. Glide
03. The Soul Searchers
04. Boy About Town
05. Have You Ever Had It Blue
06. What Would He Say?
07. Wild Wood
09. Aspects
10. Strange Museum
11. Amongst Butterflies
12. Old Castles
13. Gravity
14. Where’er Ye Go

CD 2:
01. A Man Of Great Promise
02. Mayfly
03. Private Hell
04. Tales From The Riverbank
05. Movin On
06. Long Long Road
07. Hopper
08. White Horses
09. Books
10. You Do Something To Me
11. May Love Travel With You

Website: Paul Weller

Ook op Blues Magazine ...