Jim Lauderdale & Roland White – Jim Lauderdale & Roland White
Format: CD – Digital / Label: Yep Roc Records
Releasedatum: 3 augustus 2018

Tekst:  Iain Patience

This is a true treasure, a recently discovered forty-year-old recording by two bluegrass music giants. Recorded originally at the home of the late banjo wizard, Earl Scruggs, back in 1979, ‘Jim Lauderdale & Roland White’ features Lauderdale’s usual vocal range, lyricism and command of modern country-cum-bluegrass that at times soars and sails across genres to include general rootsy material, hints of rock and blues, and even a cover from the pen of sixties flower-power, UK songwriter, Donovan.

White, his partner here, was already a bluegrass icon when this was recorded all those years ago. As a former Bill Monroe Bluegrass Boy, a Kentucky Colonel and Nashville stalwart, he had more than made his mark before teaming up with Lauderdale, then a relative newcomer on the scene. The most surprising thing about this release may be the tight, cohesive nature of the recording itself, which suggests an immediacy and sound of years of close, shared experience with excellent harmonies, guitar and mandolin work from both lead players, here supported by some stirring fretwork from Marty Stuart, another huge Nashville music name.

This album represents much of what we now know, love and expect to hear from Lauderdale in general terms, but with the added beauty of White’s massive experience and importance to the world of country and bluegrass music. Songs covered include a range of bluegrass standards such as Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar, and a few then new titles from the novice Lauderdale. Overall, this is a wonderful release, a must-have recording for all lovers of bluegrass in general and Lauderdale in particular.

01. Forgive And Forget
02. Gold And Silver
03. (Stone Must Be The) Walls Built Around Your Heart
04. Six White Horses
05. I Might Take You Back Again
06. Try And Catch The Wind
07. Don’t Laugh
08. Regrets And Mistakes
09. February Snow
10. (That’s What You Get) For Loving Me
11. Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar
12. Nashville Blues

Website: Jim Lauderdale

Gerelateerde artikelen
Filter by
Post Page
Sort by