Eric Bibb & North Country Far with Danny Thompson

Eric Bibb & North Country Far with Danny Thompson – The Happiest Man In The World
Format: CD / Label: DixieFrog Records

Releasedatum: 6 mei 2016

Tekst: Iain Patience

Eric Bibb may have good reason to be the Happiest Man in the World, with top quality music seemingly pouring from the guy on a regular basis. This is his second release inside twelve months, following hot on the heels of the highly acclaimed Lead Belly’s Gold which featured French harp-man Jean Jacques Milteau and was released on the same label (Stony Plain in USA).

This time round, Bibb is joined by one of the finest double-bass players on the planet with England’s Danny Thompson thumping along rhythmically throughout. Thompson has played with almost everyone of note in the modern roots/folk music world from his days with Pentangle, through Richard Thompson (no relation) and Scotland’s late John Martyn.

The result, is pretty much as might be expected. An album of simply wonderful blues-tinged acoustic music featuring Bibb’s distinctive and mellow vocals alongside his fine fretwork on both guitar and banjo. All fourteen tracks are penned by Bibb himself here, and as usual with the man he sticks to tradition at its core while always moving the music forward with thoughtful lyrics and plangent melodies that linger.

An absolute gem and a must-have album for lovers of Bibb and his refreshing style of acoustic roots/blues music.

01. The Happiest Man In The World
02.Toolin’ Down The Road
03. I’ll Farm For You
04. Tossin’ An’ Turnin’
05. Creole Cafe
06. Born To Be Your Man
07. Prison Of Time
08. King Size Bed
09. On The Porch
10. 1912 Skiing Disaster
11. Tell Ol’ Bill
12. Wish I Could Hold You Now
13. Blueberry Boy
14. You Really Got Me

Eric Bibb (vocals, 6 & 12 string guitars, 6-string banjo & guitalele)
Danny Thompson (upright bass)
Olli Haavisto (dobro, pedal steel, Weissenborn & Martin acoustic Hawaiian guitars)
Petri Hakala (mandolin, mandola, fiddle on 4, guitar on 10)
Janne Haavisto (drums, percussion)
Ulrika Pontén Bibb (backing vocals on 11)
May Murphy (Irish whistle on 13)
Michael Jerome Brown (slide & 12-string guitars on 14)
Pepe Ahlquist (harmonica on 14)

Website: Eric Bibb


Ook op Blues Magazine ...