Foto Recensie: Deep Purple - A Fire In The Sky

Deep Purple – A Fire In The Sky
Format: 3CD – 3LP / Label: Rhino
Releasedatum: 15 september 2017

Tekst: Iain Patience

Deep Purple is a band with a huge and still popular back-catalogue. The result is inevitable, it can be hard to find anything new or striking at times. With this latest triple disc set, we have pretty much a definitive collection that spans the band’s career while highlighting the genuine quality that pushed the band to the very top of the heavy rock world four decades or more ago.

Purple’s popularity remains rooted in in retrospect in the extraordinary talents of guitarist, Ritchie Blackmore, and cum-howling vocalist, Ian Gillan; a combination that for many was the greatest of the period and easily challenged anything the rock world could throw at it. But the band also included many other great musicians over the years including the ever-popular Joe Satriani and Glenn Hughes, for example. And with line-up changes rolling through the years and decades, Purple became masters of reinvention but always with a sound that remained totally locked into a sense of period and aural attention. This is a band that changes configuration and line-up with ease while still catching a distinct sound and sense of purpose.

With ‘A Fire In The Sky’, they again turn out a retrospective that roars along barely pausing for breath between tracks and always delivering the essence of Purple at its best. Any Deep Purple fan will probably have most, if not all of the tracks included here on disc already but will nevertheless want to add this rocking, raucous latest offering to their collection.

Deep Purple - Child In Time - Live (1970)

CD 1
01. Hell To Pay
02. Vincent Price
03. Wrong Man
04. Rapture Of The Deep
05. Sun Goes Down
06. Any Fule Kno That
07. Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming
08. Vavoom: Ted The Mechanic
09. The Battle Rages On
10. King Of Dreams
11. Call of the Wild
12. Bad Attitude
13. Knocking At Your Back Door
14. Perfect Strangers

CD 2
01. You Keep On Moving (2010 Remastered Version)
02. Dealer (2010 Kevin Shirley Remix)
03. Stormbringer (2009 Remastered Version)
04. Soldier Of Fortune (2009 Remastered Version)
05. Mistreated (2004 Remastered Version)
06. Might Just Take Your Life (2004 Remastered Version)
07. Burn (2004 Remastered Version)
08. Rat Bat Blue (2000 Remastered Version)
09. Woman from Tokyo (2000 Remastered Version)
10. Space Truckin’ (2012 Remastered Version)
11. Smoke On The Water (2012 Remastered Version)
12. When A Blind Man Cries (Non Album B-Side) [2012 Remastered Version]

CD 3
01. Highway Star (2012 Remastered Version)
02. Demon’s Eye (2016 Remastered Version)
03. Fireball (2016 Remastered Version)
04. Strange Kind Of Woman (2002 Remastered Version)
05. Child in Time (2016 Remastered Version)
06. Speed King (U.S. Edit) [2016 Remastered Version]
07. Black Night (Single Version) [2002 Remastered Version]
08. Hallelujah (2002 Remastered Version)
09. Emmaretta (2012 Stereo Mix)
10. The Bird Has Flown (Early Version) [2012 Stereo Mix]
11. Wring That Neck (Stereo Mix) [2014 Remastered Version]
12. Kentucky Woman (Stereo Mix) [2014 Remastered Version]
13. Mandrake Root (Stereo Mix) [2014 Remastered Version]
14. Hush (2014 Remastered Version)

Website: Deep Purple

Ook op Blues Magazine ...