Dave Keyes – The Healing
Format: CD – Digital / Label: Keyesland Music Records
Releasedatum: 16 oktober 2017

Tekst: Iain Patience

Dave Keyes is easily one of the USA’s finest keyboard guys, a sideman who is constantly in demand and on the road with countless American musicians and bands. Currently working with Popa Chubby, Keyes has taken the plunge once again, sticking his head above the parapet with this eleven-track release. Most tracks are written by Keyes who also throws in a sweet cover of Robert Johnson’s Traveling Riverside Blues and Sister Rosetta Tharpe’s Strange Things Happening.

Popa Chubby guests on a number of tracks, as does the ever-soulful Vaneese Thomas, a lady with a mellow, sensitive voice, and his old, trusted buddy Alexis P Suter as a member of the backing Ministers of Sound. Keyes himself turns in a compelling range of vocals and switches from keys through piano to B3, without a thought and always with total mastery. He works through gospel, blues and boiling boogies and shuffles with ease and style, while always delivering a strong, central dose of quality. Bringing a powerful blast of old-school gospel, the thirty-strong Brooklyn Interdenominational Choir also add a searching blend of roots class to the mix.

‘The Healing’, Keyes’ sixth album, really Is one of those albums that, somehow or other, comes as a truly delightful surprise, way outliving expectations and high-lighting Keyes’ absolutely outstanding talent, ability and understanding of just what makes a damned good release. Give this a go, you won’t be disappointed.

01. Change
02. Dance In The Dark
03. Not So Nice Anymore
04. Ain`t Looking For Love
05. Travelling Riverside Blues
06. Boogie For Stefan
07. Come To Me
08. Strange Things Happening
09. Faith Grace Love And Forgiveness
10. Take You Back
11. Box Of Blues

Website: Dave Keyes

Ook op Blues Magazine ...