Bob Margolin – Bob Margolin
Format: CD – Digital / Label: VizzTone Records
Releasedatum: 5 oktober 2018

Tekst: Iain Patience

When Bob Margolin delivers a new release the blues world sits up, reaches out and takes note. All entirely understandable, for Margolin is one of those true blues troubadours who has roots that reach back into the potent and rich blues-legends undergrowth. On this eponymous fifteen-track album Steady Rollin’ Bob Margolin includes nine tracks from the world of his own heritage and the many masters he has worked with over the decades; these include Muddy Waters, Johnny Winter, Jimmy Rogers, Snooky Prior, James Cotton and Pinetop Perkins, all guys Margolin knew well, worked with, revered and adored. At times, he even contributed to their own individuality and stature. In truth, there are precious few musicians still with us today who can boast such influence and genuine importance

But Bob Margolin doesn’t only know his way through this music, he created and carved many of the paths himself. With this release he again cements his place in the blues world. His voice drifts along as a perfect foil to his always absolutely on-the-money fretwork. With six tracks self-written as near instant blues standards, his interpretations of the remaining nine tracks, prove once again that Margolin is one of those guys who can kick up a musical storm with a mere shrug or nod at the music he has championed so fervently for much of his life. His last offering, ‘My Road,’ in 2016, was a self-written project that reflected his thoughts on life before the political and social upheavals now apparent in the USA.
His latest, current album takes that theme forward, brings it up to date and pulses with determination, drive and wonderful music. This is one of those must-have, essential modern blues albums that guarantees satisfaction with every track.

01. One More Day
02. I Shall Be Released
03. Detroit
04. Mercy
05. Best I Can Do
06. Blues Before Sunrise
07. Dallas
08. How Long How Long Blues
09. Peace Of Mind
10. She’s So Pretty
11. Look What You Done
12. Head Held High
13. Goin’ Away Baby
14. My Road
15. One More Mile

Website: Bob Margolin

Ook op Blues Magazine ...