Foto Recensie: Bob Dylan - Triplicate

Bob Dylan – Triplicate
Format: 3CD – 3LP / Label: Sony Columbia Legacy Of Music
Releasedatum: 31 maart 2017

Tekst: Iain Patience

This is one of those totally unexpected releases that just turn up and hit you square in the gut from time to time. Bob Dylan, no stranger to musical controversy and change, has really stepped out of the comfort zone of many of his millions of fans with ‘Triplicate’. Anyone buying this, expecting to find Dylan’s usual gruff, folkie or rocky delivery is in for a genuine surprise and possibly a degree of disappointment.

A triple album set, ‘Triplicate’ features little or nothing of his normal swaggering style and instead gives us thirty tracks of what might best be called classic US standards, a back-catalogue of Gershwin, Cohn and others, which at times is irresistibly reminiscent of Harry Nilsson’s less than well-received – now near-classic – 1970s ‘A Little Touch of Schmilsson in the Night.’

Tracks include Stormy Weather, As Time Goes By and These Foolish Things for example, together with some others, better known or otherwise. Dylan’s voice, oddly enough, seems to cope with much of the material fairly well, and it’s tempting to say that he comes across as if perfectly comfortable and in control of the material in this unusual mix. Whatever might be thought about this strange departure, Dylan seems happy, content and to be enjoying himself, so the assumption must be that this is an album of his own, personal favourites, much of it drawn from his own youth and development in the USA where this music would have been prevalent and given widespread airplay.

To my personal surprise and near amazement, the album has grown on me and I find no trouble in recommending it generally with the one important proviso that if you’re a Dylan fan be careful and be aware of just what you’re buying into here. This is a different Dylan……once again.

Bob Dylan - My One and Only Love (Official Audio)

CD 1 – ‘ Til The Sun Goes Down
01. I Guess I’ll Have to Change My Plans
02. September Of My Years
03. I Could Have Told You
04. Once Upon A Time
05. Stormy Weather
06. This Nearly Was Mine
07. That Old Feeling
08. It Gets Lonely Early
09. My One and Only Love
10. Trade Winds

CD 2 – Devil Dolls
01. Braggin’
02. As Time Goes By
03. Imagination
04. How Deep Is The Ocean
05. P.S. I Love You
06. The Best Is Yet To Come
07. But Beautiful
08. Here’s That Rainy Day
09. Where Is The One
10. There’s A Flaw In My Flue

CD 3 – Comin’ Home Late
01. Day In, Day Out
02. I Couldn’t Sleep A Wink Last Night
03. Sentimental Journey
04. Somewhere Along The Way
05. When The World Was Young
06. These Foolish Things
07. You Go To My Head
08. Stardust
09. It’s Funny To Everyone But Me
10. Why Was I Born

Website: Bob Dylan

Bob Dylan - I Could Have Told You (Official Audio)

Ook op Blues Magazine ...