Auld Man’s Baccie – Nee Jiggery Pokery Live & 100% Homage
Format: CD / Label: Eigen Beheer
Releasedatum: 22 februari 2018

Tekst: Iain Patience

Auld Man’s Baccie is a very strong dose of traditional, rootsy acoustic country-blues music from a UK duo of guitar pickers with a clear sense of humour and knowledge of the music they so evidently love. A double-album package, self-produced and supported, Davey Curtis picks guitar alongside his partner, Nick Phillips, who adds a powerful hit of acoustic, resonator-driven slide work to the mix. The guys both share vocal credits, with disc one, ‘Nee Jiggery Pokey,’ being self-written blues with a positively old-school live performance edge, style and feel throughout.

Disc two, ‘100% Homage, ‘ has the pair looking back to the roots of the music but with some, at times, surprising covers included. Rory Gallagher’s ‘Bull Frog Blues’ rubs shoulders with the likes of old Nashville country-King Buck Owens’ ‘Cigarettes, Whiskey and Wild, Wild, Women,’ Willie Nelson’s ‘Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die,’ some Johnny Cash, Jimmie Rodgers, Taj Mahal, AC/DC and Sensational Alex Harvey Band. There is a sort of delightful, irreverent theme that bubbles through everything this pair produce. The result is a good-feel, good-fun album with true traditional mastery at the core.

Auld Man’s Baccie is an acoustic blues outfit with a clear command of the country-blues, stinging slide-work end of the music, and a warm wit and humour that should appeal to all who prefer their blues to be anchored in the US 1930s tradition, while remaining original, interesting and downright delightfully dark and slippery. Wit and wisdom in equal measure. Grab this one while you can.

Nee Jiggery Pokery:
01. Old Black Dog
02. Fanny Mae
03. Dead Man’s Shoes
04. Mamma Moonshine
05. Church of Lost Souls
06. Long Hard Road
07. Grant me Salvation
08. Baccie Blues
09. Shaky Juice
10. Closing Time

100% Homage:
01. Bull Frog Blues
02. Dr. Brown
03. Cigarettes, Whiskey & Wild, Wild Women
04. Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I die
05. Ain’t Nobody’s Business
06. Whole Lotta Rosie
07. Let’s Work Together
08. In The Jailhouse Now
09. Framed
10. Folsom Prison Blues

Website: Auld Man’s Baccie