Alice DiMicele – One With The Tide
Format: CD – Vinyl – Digital / Label:  Alice Otter Music
Releasedatum: 19 januari 2018

Tekst: Iain Patience

Alice DiMicele is a US singer-songwriter who comes from the traditional end of the business, with a modern slant and a melodic take that always engages interest. Never afraid to put her neck on the block, she is clearly and explosively a ‘Green,’ with a passion and fervour that exposes and focusses on environmental and politically important issues, themes that echo through her songs and continue from album to album.

With this latest nine-track release, she has again hit the spot and, if anything, delivered an album that’s pretty hard to resist, a disc that follows on the heels of her previous offering, ‘Swim’, a year or so back, and even manages to better that with apparent ease and confidence.

Now based in Oregon, on the Pacific North West Coast of the USA, DiMicele, is an ardent and forceful writer with a quality vocal delivery and a genuinely delightful melodic foundation that rings from this album and should strengthen her position internationally. Surprisingly, perhaps, this is the fourteenth release on her own Alice Otter Music label, begging the question why haven’t we all heard more of her in the recent past.

With a pedigree that includes sharing billing alongside the likes of Bonnie Raitt, David Grisman, Janis Ian, Joan Baez and Steve Winwood, DiMicele is clearly a lady with a past worth knowing. With this latest offering she again proves that she has a powerful presence and a future to look forward to with eager anticipation.

01. One With The Tide
02. Desire
03. The Other Side
04. Lonely Alone
05. Waiting
06. Nature Reigns
07. Seeds
08. Voice Of The Water
09. Imagine

Website: Alice DiMicele