Paul Carrack toont zijn Soul/RnB-kant opnieuw op ‘Soul Shadows’, de weg die hij ingeslagen was op ‘Rain or Shine’ en een succesvolle bleek te zijn. Tien zelfgeschreven nummers en slecht 1 enkele cover, de klassieke Bobby Bland hit ‘Share Your Love With Me’. ‘Soul Shadows’ is deels opgenomen in de USA, in Paul zijn thuisstudio en deels in de legendarische AIR-studios in Londen en bewijst dat Paul Carrack op de top van zijn kunnen is.

paul carrack soul shadows

Paul Carrack – Soul Shadows


1. Bet Your Life
2. Keep On Loving You
3. Late At Night
4. Let Me Love Again
5. Sleep On It
6. Sweet Soul Legacy
7. That’S How I Feel
8. Too Good To Be True
9. Watching Over Me
10. Say What You Mean
11. Share Your Love With Me

Paul Carrack LIVE DATA

17 mrt – Eindhoven, Effenaar
18 mrt – Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (Uitverkocht)
19 mrt – Hengelo, Metropool
20 mrt – Groningen, De Oosterpoort

Paul Carrack, the hugely respected singer-songwriter who is the voice of many of the landmark British pop songs of the past 40 years, will unveil a stunning new album, Soul Shadows, on January 15, 2016.

Soul Shadows comes in the wake of Carrack’s latest sojourn as featured vocalist and keyboard player in Eric Clapton’s band for his UK and international tour, the result of their longtime friendship and mutual respect. The new album is the follow-up to 2013’s warmly-received Rain Or Shine, which maintained Paul’s recurring status as a staple of the BBC Radio 2 playlist.

But where that album contained a mixture of covers and originals, the new set is comprised almost entirely of some of the best songwriting of Carrack’s entire career, plus one lovingly-chosen remake: the Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland gem that was also a major R&B hit for Aretha Franklin, ‘Share Your Love With Me.’

Most of the album’s instrumentation is by Paul himself, working in his newly-refurbished home studio, with his son Jack once again joining him on drums. “it’s not a garage anymore,” Carrack laughs. “We got it up and running and a lot of the songs have come from little jams, just me and Jack.”

Six of the tracks on Soul Shadows have the addition of a hand-picked string and horn section recorded in the hallowed surroundings of AIR Studios in London. Other highlights will include a new song with lyrics by Paul’s longtime friend Chris Difford of Squeeze, ‘Bet Your Life,’ and a guest appearance by Pee-Wee Ellis, the legendary saxophonist from James Brown’s band who played on and co-wrote such greats as ‘Cold Sweat’ and ‘Say It Loud – I’m Black and I’m Proud.’

Paul is, of course, the voice of such undisputed classics as Ace’s ‘How Long,’ Squeeze’s ‘Tempted,’ the Mike & the Mechanics anthems ‘The Living Years’ and ‘Over My Shoulder’ and many others. He was a distinguished member of all three bands, recorded and toured with countless others including Roxy Music, Ringo Starr, B.B. King, Elton John and the Pretenders, and has had his songs cut by the Eagles, Diana Ross and Tom Jones to name only a few.

As a solo artist, Carrack continues to enhance an illustrious catalogue that stretches back to 1980, and a measure of his standing among legions of fans, the first announcement of the impending release of Soul Shadows had it racing to the top of Amazon’s pre-order chart.

Ook op Blues Magazine ...