North Mississippi Allstars will return with Prayer for Peace on June 2 as the band offers up their eighth studio recording, following up 2013’s World Boogie is Coming.

North Mississippi Allstars - Prayer For Peace

Prayer For Peace is North Mississippi Allstars’ 8th studio album and self-produced by the Dickinson Brothers. It was recorded across the country at 6 different studios: including the famous Royal Studios in Memphis with Boo Mitchell & their legendary father Jim Dickinson’s Zebra Ranch in Hernando, MS. Special guests on the album include bassist Oteil Burbridge (Allman Brothers Band, Dead & Company), Graeme Lesh (Midnight North, The Terrapin Family Band), vocalist Sharisse Norman, bassist Dominic Davis (Jack White), and singer/fife player Shardé Thomas, daughter of Mississippi blues giant Otha Turner.

North Mississippi Allstars cover R.L. Burnside’s “Long Haired Doney” on their new album ‘Prayer for Peace.’

One of the album’s final tracks, “Long Haired Doney,” nods to the group’s early days, when fellow Mississippi bluesman R.L. Burnside took the young Allstars under his wing. After Burnside passed away in 2005, his protégés honored his influence by adding “Long Haired Doney” to their setlists, revising Burnside’s blues staple with electric slide guitar and a punchy, percussive stomp.

Listen this track now!

North Mississippi Allstars – Prayer For Peace

Label: Legacy
Release date: 2 June 2017

1. Prayer For Peace
2. Need To Be Free
3. Miss Maybelle
4. Run Red Rooster
5. Stealin’
6. Deep Ellum
7. Bird Without A Feather
8. You Got To Move
9. 61 Highway
10. Long Haired Doney
11. Bid You Goodnight
12. P4P2017

Ook op Blues Magazine ...