Mean Mary – Cold
Format: CD – Digital
Label: Woodrock Records
Releasedatum: 4 oktober 2019

‘Cold’ is the newest and most intimate release to date from awardwinning musician/writer, Mean Mary (Mary James). The moody, almost gothic, lyrics and dark melodies take the listener through the colder seasons of the year and of the heart. Produced by Mary James, the album features all original songs with some lyrics taken straight from her journal entries. As usual on a Mean Mary project, Mary provides the bulk of vocals and instrumentation to the songs, but her family is always there as the unsung heroes. Brother, Frank James, adds his unusual guitar style and harmonies to four of the tracks, and Mother – award-winning writer, Jean James – is the co-writer on seven, seamlessly blending her own brand of lyrics with her daughter’s.

Mary James, youngest of six children, was born in Geneva, Alabama, though her family lived in Florida, a couple miles below the Alabama line. Her mom (author, Jean James) and dad (WWII veteran, William James) lived a very nomadic lifestyle. On one occasion they packed up the family (Mary was four at the time) and moved from Florida to North Minnesota, near the Canadian border, to rough it in the wilds.

An award-winning musician/writer and fan favourite (over 10 million views on her YouTube videos), Mean Mary (Mary James), a Florida native now based in Nashville, began life as a musical prodigy – she could read music before she could read words and co-wrote songs at age five. By age seven she was proficient on the guitar, banjo, & violin, and entertained audiences across the US with her vocal and instrumental skills. Her life has been one long road show interspersed with TV, radio, and film.

Now a seasoned performer and headliner of over 4000 festivals and concerts, Deering Banjo’s named her their Goodtime Ambassador, and Janet Deering describes her banjo playing as giving her “chills”. Equally versatile on guitar, fiddle, and 8 other instruments, Mary is known internationally for her lightning-fast fingers, haunting vocals, and intricate story songs. As a high-energy performer that thrives on variety and as a songwriter that chooses unusual subject matters, anything from ghost pirates to demon guitars could romp through a Mean Mary show.

01. I Fell Into The Night
02. Rainy Day
03. Dark Woods
04. Cold (House By The Sea)
05. Snow Falling
06. Sad November Breeze
07. Friend I Never Had
08. Quoth The Mockingbird
09. April In December
10. Sparrow
11. Forevermore

Website: Mean Mary

Ook op Blues Magazine ...