Warner Bros. Records is set to release Mark Knopfler’s new recording Get Lucky on September 15. This is the sixth solo studio album from the legendary musician and follows 2007’s highly successful Kill To Get Crimson, which Rolling Stone heralded as “a gem” and USA Today described as, “…yet another unpretentious showcase for his unmistakable gifts as a musician, tunesmith and storyteller.”

Recorded at Knopfler’s award-winning British Grove Studios in West London, Get Lucky was co-produced with longtime collaborators, engineer Chuck Ainlay and keyboardist Guy Fletcher and featured Richard Bennett, Danny Cummings, John McCusker, Matt Rollings and Glenn Worf. The 11-track album explores a lifetime of musical roots exemplified by the title track. “The first itinerant person I ever met would sing in soul bands in winter, then work part-time in fairgrounds or ‘go pick fruit down south’ when the weather turned warm,” explains Knopfler. “I was about 15 years old, stuck in school and envious. ‘Get Lucky’ came from him and other traveling characters I went on to meet in places I’d find myself working short-term, like farms, warehouses, building sites, before I got lucky with my songs.”

According to Knopfler’s official web site (www.markknopfler.com), he’ll begin his tour in support of Get Lucky sometime in 2010. Among his tour dates for the record will be six shows at London’s Royal Albert Hall running from May 30, 2010 through June 4. The remainder of his N. American and European tour dates are expected to be announced in September.


Mark Knopfler – Get Lucky
Label : Warner Bros. Records | Release Date : 15 September 2009

The album will come out in different versions; CD, Vinyl and deluxe box set containing: 2x Vinyl, Poker Chips, Craps Dice, Guitar Tab, Classic Gig Ticket, CD/DVD, Bonus CD.

1. Border Reiver 4:37
2. Hard Shoulder 4:36
3. You Can’t Beat The House 3:25
4. Before Gas & TV 5:51
5. Monteleone 3:37
6. Cleaning My Gun 4:44
7. The Car Was The One 4:02
8. Remembrance Day 5:03
09. Get Lucky 4:36
10. So Far From The Clyde 6:01
11. Piper To The End 6:18

Website Mark Knopfler : www.markknopfler.com

Ook op Blues Magazine ...