Malcolm Holcombe zou Malcom Holcombe niet zijn als hij van een repertoire overzicht niet iets bijzonders zou maken. Hij nam afgelopen herfst 16 tracks afkomstig van al zijn albums van 1994 tot 2014 opnieuw op in de legendarische RCA Studios te Nashville. Solo, als duo met multi-instrumentalist Jared Tyler of met een volledige band: het komt allemaal voorbij op zowel CD als DVD. Een live-in-de-studio sessie met een grote spanwijdte!


2 mei 2015 – Groningen, Rhythm & Blues night

Spanning the years 1994 to 2014, The RCA Sessions comprises 16 cuts in a CD/DVD retrospective that includes tracks from each of his previous 10 full length albums and 1 EP. Unlike the usual anthology of original recordings, Holcombe re-recorded the selected songs at the legendary RCA Studios in Nashville, TN in the fall of 2014.

Included is the live performance favorite, “Mouth Harp Man”, which is exclusive to this release, as well as well as the popular tracks “Goin’ Home”, “Who Carried You”, and a very special duet with Irish folk great, Maura O’Connell, of Holcombe’s classic, “A Far Cry From Here”.

The band members, who have all frequently performed with Malcolm in the studio as well as for live performances, are: Jared Tyler (dobro, electric guitar, lap steel, vocals); David Roe Rorick ( upright bass, arco), Tammy Rogers (fiddle, mandolin, vocals), Ken Coomer (drums, percussion), Jellyroll Johnson (harmonica), and Siobhan Maher Kennedy (vocals).

To represent Holcombe’s live performance range- from the intimate nature of solo acoustic, to the much lauded duo configuration with long-standing multi-instrumentalist Jared Tyler, to the energy and intensity of his full band shows- the CD/DVD set includes all of the above-mentioned musical configurations. Cut as live performances in-studio, these tracks capture the spirit of Holcombe’s incendiary concert performances and timeless songwriting.

As this is the first time Malcolm Holcombe has released a DVD performance, it is sure to become a much appreciated addition to both long time fans, as well as the perfect introduction for the uninitiated. The RCA Sessions is not an end, but a culmination of work that spotlights the artistic mastery of one of the most unique and irreplaceable musicians working today in the contemporary folk scene.

malcolm holcombe the rca sessions


Label: Gypsy Eyes Music
Release: 6 April 2015


1. Who Carried You
2. Mister In Morgantown W/ Jelly Roll Johnson
3. I Feel Like A Train
4. Doncha Miss That Water
5. The Empty Jar
6. Butcher In Town
7. To Drink The Rain
8. Early Mornin’
9. I Never Heard You Knockin’
10. Mouth Harp Man W/ Jelly Roll Johnson
11. I Call The Shots
12. My Ol Radio W/ Siobhan Maher- Kennedy
13. Goin’ Home
14. Down The River
15. Pitiful Blues
16. A Far Cry W/ Maura O’ Connell

27 februari 2015|Categories: Releases|Tags: |0 reacties

We horen graag je mening! Voeg reactie toe