Album Stream
New Album Luther Dickinson

This acoustic collection of songs interpreted simply, recorded live, solo or with a small group of friends reflects my relationship between music, songs, the written word and legacy. Blues & Ballads celebrates the American oral tradition of blues and folk songs, not only being passed down and evolving but being transcribed (the original recording technique) and entered into the discipline of written sheet music and songbooks.

Luther delves deep into a collection of songs that he wrote for the Allstars, as well as songs he learned from friends and family, and songs passed down to him by his heroes and mentors.

Luther also brings some friends along to help on the album. Mavis Staples adds gorgeous vocals to the mournful “Ain’t No Grave,” a song Dickinson penned after the death of his father in 2009. On “Up Over Yonder,” Jason Isbell peels off a hazy, spacey steel guitar part, while fellow bluesman JJ Grey adds nimble, delicate harmonies.

Listen now to Luther Dickinson’s new album Blues & Ballads (A Folksinger’s Songbook) Volumes I & II

Luther Dickinson
Blues & Ballads (A Folksinger’s Songbook) Volumes I & II

Label: New West
Release: 5 February 2016

– Digipack CD with 16-page booklet.
– 180g double vinyl including a deluxe 16-page songbook with pulp / hymnal paper and digital download card.

Bestel CD | Bestel LP

1. Hurry Up Sunrise
2. Up Over Yonder
3. Bang bang Lulu
4. Moonshine
5. Jackson
6. Mean Ol’ Wind Died Down
7. How I Wish My Train Would Come
8. Ain’t No Grave
9. Let It Roll
10. My Leavin’
11. Horseshoe [Reprise]
12. Highwater (Soldier)
13. And It Hurts
14. Storm
15. Mojo, Mojo
16. Ol’ Cannonball
17. Devilment
18. Luther Dickinson – Blow Out
19. Mayor Langford Birmingham Blues
20. Shake (Yo Mama)
21. Horseshoe