An Americana Christmas is een verrassende collectie kerstliedjes die ook de ongelovige niet-kerst-vierder zal bekoren. Voor de helft gevuld met speciaal voor de gelegenheid opgenomen nummers van aankomend talent van het New West-label (de geniale Robert Ellis, Corb Lund, Ronnie Fauss, Max Gomez, Nikki Lane en de onvolprezen Old 97’s), voor de andere helft met de groten uit de Americana: Emmylou Harris, John Prine, Johnny Cash, Dwight Yoakam, Bob Dylan (zijn zeer aanstekelijke Tex Mex-uitvoering van Must Be Santa) en The Band (de klassieke tranentrekker Christmas Must Be Tonight). En of dat nog niet genoeg is, zijn er ook nog onze eigen Common Linnets. Pracht-CD.

Enjoy The Common Linnets – “At Christmas Time”

An Americana Christmas, out on CD, and vinyl on New West Records, brings together some of the biggest icons and current stars in Americana music for a wide-ranging collection of classic Christmas songs and brand new holiday recordings. The 16-track album features legendary artists Johnny Cash, Bob Dylan, Emmylou Harris, The Band, John Prine, Dwight Yoakam and Ben Keith w/ Neil & Pegi Young alongside many of the genre’s current younger talents like Valerie June, Nikki Lane, Robert Ellis, Luther Dickinson and the Old 97’s.

americana christmas

Various Artists – An Americana Christmas

label: New West
Release: 1 December 2014

1 Luther Dickinson – Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
2 John Prine – Everything Is Cool *
3 Robert Ellis – Pretty Paper
4 Emmylou Harris – The First Noel
5 Johnny Cash – The Gifts They Gave
6 Corb Lund – Just Me And These Ponies (For Christmas This Year)
7 Dwight Yoakam – Run Run Rudolph *
8 Bob Dylan – Must Be Santa
9 Valerie June – Winter Wonderland
10 Ronnie Fauss – Everybody Deserves A Merry Christmas *
11 Max Gomez – Season Of My Memory
12 Ben Keith w/ Neil & Pegi Young – Les Trois Cloches
13 The Common Linnets – At Christmas Time
14 Nikki Lane – Falalaalove Ya
15 Old 97’s – Here It Is Christmas Time
16 The Band – Christmas Must Be Tonight
* Not on vinyl release

The compilation compiles previously released material with six brand new recordings exclusive to the album. In addition to Ellis’ offering, Memphis songstress Valerie June puts her rollicking spin on season staple, “Winter Wonderland,” Luther Dickinson of North Mississippi Allstars injects “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing” with some southern boogie and groove, rising Nashville chanteuse Nikki Lane offers an upbeat, retro-tinged original, Canadian roots music star Corb Lund turns in the sweeping and weeping new tune, “Just Me And These Ponies (For Christmas This Year) and Dutch duo The Common Linnets contributes the new song, “At Christmas Time.”

The lone European act, The Common Linnets are one of Europe’s biggest Americana bands and have sold more than 150,000 copies of their debut release and took second place in the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.

An Americana Christmas is for anyone who appreciates great songwriting and timeless music delivered from the heart and will appeal to several generations making it a perfect addition to your holidays.

Ook op Blues Magazine ...