Keb Mo’ Confirms First New Album in Three Years ‘BLUESAmericana’ Out April 22

Keb’ Mo’ – hailed by NPR as the “modern ambassador for the blues” – embarks on a new chapter in his career with the April 22 release of his first new album in three years, ‘BLUESAmericana’ (Kind of Blue Music), and most extensive tour in nearly as long. Recorded in Nashville and produced by Keb’ Mo’ and Casey Wasner, ‘BLUESAmericana’ features some of the three-time Grammy winner’s most poignant and joyful songs. Wall Street Journal’s ‘Speakeasy’ premiered the first single “The Old Me Better,” which gets its Crescent City sound from guest artists the California Feetwarmers. The song finds Keb’ at his finest – candid, funny and honest. Keb’ explains: “This song is a humorous way of looking at the fact that maybe it wasn’t better than it is now, but it sure seems like it was at certain times.” Listen here…

‘BLUESAmericana’ is comprised of 9 original songs and a cover of “That’s Alright,” a song Keb’ first heard sung by Mississippi Sheiks’ Sam Chatmon. “I only make albums when I’m inspired to, and these 10 songs come from a very honest place,” says Keb’. Achieving this wasn’t easy. In the period since 2011’s ‘The Reflection,’ Keb’ and his wife, Robbie, persevered through a challenging patch in their marriage. “I had to learn more about myself,” Keb’ says, “and in doing that I felt a personal shift.”

At its core, the album is about love and understanding. Many of the songs, including “Do It Right,” co-written with Jim Weatherly (“Midnight Train To Georgia”), and the reflective “For Better Or Worse,” explore devotion and marriage. The thorny, comic “The Worst is Yet To Come” is about hope, despite the hilarious laundry list of pitfalls its protagonist endures as he searches for a silver lining. “Somebody Hurt You” is, in Keb’s words, “where the blues meets the church,” and features guest vocals by Rip Patton, a longtime friend and Civil Rights era Freedom Rider.

Keb Mo’

Label: Kind of Blue Music
Release date: 22 April 2014

‘BLUESAmericana’ Tracklist:

1. The Worst Is Yet To Come
2. Somebody Hurt You
3. Do It Right
4. I’m Gonna Be Your Man
5. Move
6. For Better Or Worse
7. That’s Alright
8. Old Me Better
9. More For Your Money
10. So Long Goodbye

Keb’ Mo’ On The Web:

Ook op Blues Magazine ...