Kai Strauss & The Electric Blues All Stars – Live In Concert
Format: 2CD set – fold-out CD case – 8 page booklet
Label: Continental Record Services

Releasedatum: 11 april 2019

In these live recordings, Kai Strauss vibrates with deep musical understanding and shows a real grounding in fundamentals and an instinctive urge to fit together the right notes and solos. – there is nothing here that is filled with uncalled-for, frenzied guitar lines. Nothing mechanical or out of place. His repertoire on this CD sounds as if it came from Theresa’s Lounge in Chicago 1967. You can’t actually label Strauss as Just another European and separate him out from American artists – he is too good for that. In fact, he’s just about the last of musicians still jumping the authentic Blues with inspired fine blues guitar improvisation firmly grounded in that old Chicago-bred music that we all love. In choosing his songs or the appropriate intros, he shows the killer instinct that the old masters like Magic Sam had – Highway Blues is one example. Strauss’ so good here it’s scary.

CD 1
01. Gotta Let You Go
02. Highway Blues
03. Ain’t Gonna Rumble No More
04. Judgement Day
05. Did You Wrong
06. Hard Life
07. Get The Ball Rolling

CD 2
01. The Blues Is Handmade
02. This Game Ain’t Worth Playing No More
03. Let Me Love You Baby
04. Put That Bottle Down
05. Got To Be Some Changes Made
06. I Ain’t Buying It
07. Shades Of Earl (Tribute To Ronnie Earl And Earl Hooker)

Recorded live 2018 – 2 CD set, fold-out CD case, 8 page booklet
Vocals & Guitar: Kai Strauss
Bass: Kevin DuVernay
Drums: Alex Lex
Harmonica & Saxophone: Thomas Feldmann
Keyboards: Nico Dreier, Mo Fuhrhop, Horst Bergmeyer

Rhythm Guitar: Jimmy Reiter
Rhythm Guitar: Richard van Bergen

Ook op Blues Magazine ...